How cheesy can a book be? Girl Online Review

Hello! I today I’m reviewing Girl Online by Zoe Sugg and Siobhan Curham ( the ghost writer)  There are spoilers so if you haven’t read it then read it and come back.

Rating: +C: A work in progress. Okay writing, not so great characters and story line but pulled through and was readable.

IMG_0009

Every time you post something online you have a choice. You can either make it something that adds happiness to levels in the world – or you can make it something that takes away.”

So I bet you guys have probably heard Zoe Sugg (aka Zoella) from youtube.

giphy3

*Here’s a picture

If you haven’t, she is one of those youtubers who make videos on makeup, hair, and fashion. *I am not trying to be rude, I just don’t know what they’re called. I like fashion and hair but makeup isn’t my thing so I never watch them* Save that for a different post.

So if you don’t know, a lot of youtubers have been given the chance to write books *which I don’t think that’s fair because they are only getting the option because they are famous but again that’s a different post* Most of them have written memoirs but this wasn’t like those.

It had-

*wait for it…….

FICTIONAL CHARACTERS!!!

Shocker right. That’s why I wanted to read it so I grabbed a copy and read it in less than a day. The first time I read it, I thought I loved it because let’s face it some of the books that have been published lately haven’t been so good… and when I mean books that are abusive and somehow pass up as romance. But as I thought about, the more I begin to realizes how cliche and cheesy it was.

It was about a girl who was getting bullied by a girl, who acted like she was Penny’s best friend.*The one thing I have in common with this character is we both have friends who we drifted apart from. Her real best friend was named Elliot, who I have to admit is probably the funniest character in this story.

What went down well?” Mum asks, coming back to the table. “Nothing,” I said, “The Titanic,” Elliot says.”

But alway follows the gay best friend cliche, but at least he has a good storyline.

Then she goes to New York City, which comes to our next cliche. She falls in love with an American. Two people from two different cites has been one of the biggest cliche of all time. Personally, I didn’t mind Noah. I thought he treated her better than that other guy she was in love with at the beginning and, like Elliot, is also very funny and knows the way to whoa a fangirl by asking question about fictional characters.

“f you could invite any fictional character to a picnic who would it be?” I instantly smile. Noah’s random questions are definitely great ice-breakers. “Augustus Waters from the Fault in Our Stars.” I say, “So I could bring him back to life.” “Great Answer,” Noah says, “I’d bring that sappy guy from Twilight- so I could kill him.”

But than they pulled a celebrity plot twist, where he was a popular singer with a girlfriend. My question is, if he is so popular how did she not know about him? Is Penny like me and is very slow about knowing things when it comes to pop culture?

Another that I didn’t like about this book is that it seems like Zoe had copied herself, put her in the book, and changed her name to Penny Porter. I have watched some of Zoe’s videos and I do know that she had a blog before she was a youtuber. Zoe does live in Brighton, which is where main character live.

*I don’t think I’m creepy. She’s a youtuber, they like giving at personal information

Then here is one thing that a lot of people hate about this book. It was ghostwritten. A lot of people were angry about this and lost respect for Zoe. This book beat JK Rowling’s record for most books bought in the first week. I didn’t really care that this book was ghostwritten. It add more pointers on why youtubers are getting everything because they’re famous, but other than I didn’t care.

The last thing is, what will Girl Online: On Tour bring to the story?

Girl-Online-OnTour-jacket_Glamour_31July15_b_720x1080

In this follow up, the blogger, Penny, goes on tour with her boyfriend, Noah. Can she handle the pressure of jealous fans, a busy schedule, and missing her family and friends?  How that is going to play out, I have no idea. I did do some information on the next book and have found out that she is trying to write the book independently. So should we expect a non-ghostwritten book? Should we expect a stereo typical second book? I guess we’ll have to wait in till October. Tell me what you think about Girl Online and how you think On Tour will play out?

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

 

4 thoughts on “How cheesy can a book be? Girl Online Review

  1. Pingback: How cheesy can a book be? Part 2 | Girl Online: On Tour by Zoe Sugg review – geekygalaxy

  2. Pingback: THE SOCIAL MEDIA BOOK TAG! | geekygalaxy

  3. Pingback: Least Favorite Books of 2016! | geekygalaxy

  4. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag! | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

