Fashion and Emotion! | Popular by Maya Van Wagenen Review

Hello everyone! Today I’m reviewing Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen. There are spoilers so if you haven’t it, go read it then come back and read this review.

image

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

“Popularity is more than looks. It’s not clothes, hair, or even possessions. When we let go of these labels, we see how flimsy and relative they actually are. Real popularity is kindness and acceptance. It is about who you are, and how you treat others.”

image

I’ve been reading memoirs lately and I heard about this book from one of my favorite book tubers, polandbananasbooks *watch her videos, trust me you won’t regret. I love fashion and such things so when I hear the plot I thought it sounded adorable. A girl finds Betty Cornell’s Teen Age Popularity by Betty Cornell, and she takes a whole year taking every piece of advice from the book.

“Betty’s lessoning is much deeper than I ever expected: I wanted popularity; I wanted other people to like me. But it turns out, most people are wanting to be discovered.

Maya in this book is 15 years-old and is going through most things that girls go through in school. Being self-conscious about how our bodies look, bullying because we’re different, and school-boy crushes. One thing that I’ve never really like about the other memoirs that I’ve read is that I can’t connect with the narrators. Sure they have funny and heartfelt stories, but this one made connect to Maya. Has a lot of nerdy jokes too.

But the end of the book, Maya asks everyone what they like popular means and everyone said that they weren’t popular. Everyone sees life in a different way. We might think that a group of blondes are most popular girls ever but they might see themselves  as the outcast *that might not always be true but just don’t judge people for the way they look. GET TO KNOW THEM FIRST and if the treat you badly then judge.

This wasn’t a story where she told what she wore everyday *well she does mention what she wears but there’s more and gave quotes from Betty’s book. She took every month in the year and took all Betty’s advice *from the 50’s if I might add.

As the story goes through, Maya deals with classmates picking on her for wearing clothes that aren’t ‘in’. *clothes that everyone now are like todays music, it’s same thing just by someone different, but some are good. Her favorite teacher / mentor gets diagnosed with cancer.

Maya’s best friend Kenzie even thinks that this experiment is weird and tries to talk Maya out of it but it doesn’t stop Maya. Maya choses to not let people’s opinions get to her and to find Betty and tell her how much her book has helped her. Maya goes through rest of year before moving away, to make sure that she is known at this school.

“Popularity is more than looks. It’s not clothes, hair, or even possessions. When we let go of these labels, we see how flimsy and relative they actually are. Real popularity is kindness and acceptance. It is about who you are, and how you treat others.” 

This book isn’t just about changing your style, it’s about getting out there and letting people know who you are. Not being afraid to let people see the real you. Ignored everything people think you and if they don’t like you then screw them.

“Real popularity is taking the time to love others, reaching out, and never being afraid to be the first one dancing. REMEMBER THE GIRL IN PEARLS.” 

This book is something I needed right now and probably something I needed earlier in my life. If you are going through some thing with friends or are just needed to out there, then read this book.

image

Rumor has it that Popular has been option for a movie *the kind of book that should be turned into a movie so if it doesn’t happen I will mad it will better than all this other one *cough* fifty shades of grey *cough*. I think that this book that everyone should read and love as much as I do. Another rumor that she might be writing another book. I don’t know if these are true I’m not complaining I think it would be really cool and adorkable movie.

Hope you enjoyed this review. Follow, like, and comment if you must or have a different a opinion.

You know you love fiction, *see what I did there

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Book Club: Epic Adaptations 

Leave a Reply

