Gigi’s Summer Reads

Greeting Earthlings! Now you’re probably like summer isn’t over yet well it is for me because I went back school today. I’ve never done one of these before but this should be fun.

The Host

the-host

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

This book was very interesting. It was a good book but not one that I’m a fan of. So it follows the story of an alien who is taken control of a girl’s body and that girl is fighting back. I like the first part of this book but it just peeped dragging on for another 300. It’s still a good book and maybe when the another books come out I’ll like it more.

Alexander Hamilton

51P1c42DyLL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

I got this book after listening to the musical and I found it every interesting learning about Hamilton. I learned a lot and I really like this book. And I’m not a nonfiction lover so that is clearly saying something.

Girl Online: World Tour

Girl-Online-OnTour-jacket_Glamour_31July15_b_720x1080

Rating: F: Wasn’t a good read and a was a waste of time. Characters were dulled and annoying and so was the plot line.

I have a review on this and you can read it here. I’ve got notes on why this book sucks and I’m going to post some of them here so you know how I feel about this book.

– Megan is now that friend 
– leave landslide alone
– ITS FAMILY FRIENDS THEN DATING
– stop trying to funny
– gross
– not funny
– yes that is what you are
– crap I sort of feel bad for her 
– again so does everyone
– I don’t know anyone
– you love it when she spills drinks on you 
– you crappy friend
– you don’t need makeup to feel good

The Martian 

 The_Martian_2014

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

It was a fun book to read and I think it’s pretty cool how all the science behind it was realistic but I was only interested in the him trying to survive on Mars and not them people trying to save. It was really intense though like whoa.

The Winner Curse’s 

16069030

Rating: +C: A work in progress. Okay writing, not so great characters and story line but pulled through and was readable.

This was my second time reading this book and I liked it better then I did the first time but I still don’t I’m going to continue on with this because the characters are dull and so is the plot and by the time I enjoyed the where it was going the book end.

Cure for the Common Universe 

23656453

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

It started as fun, quirky book but as it went on it became little boring but I still had fun. The amount of video game jokes just about kill me and that he was sent to video game rehab makes me laugh so hard.

Matched

matched.png

Rating: F: Wasn’t a good read and a was a waste of time. Characters were dulled and annoying and so was the plot line.

I hate this book. I hated the characters, the story and I’ve always heard the worse about this series but one of friends liked it so I got, read, and sat through the stupidest thing ever!

Geek Girl

13621089

Rating: -B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

It was a cute book but it seemed like disney channel movie. Not the old disney channel, the new disney channel.

Me before You

'Me_Before_You'

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

I would just like to say this before I get started on the review. By reading I’m not saying that disabled people don’t deserve to live. That’s not the message this book is trying to send out. The book is cute and very sad. I didn’t cry like everyone said I would but I’m not really a book crier. It has romance and deals with depression. It’s cute, fun, and heartbreaking out the same time.

Vampire Academy Graphic Novel

51Sz6qC5bDL._SX358_BO1,204,203,200_

-B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

I still feel the way on how I felt with the original book and it was still good and the drawing were cool but nothing’s changed.

Trials of Apollo

26252859

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

So much fun! The Percy Jackson books have always been fun and adventurous books and this book and Magnus Chase are going back to how it was in the beginning. I loved this book more then Magnus Chase thought mainly because Magnus Chase was huge and went on for a long time. This book was 200 pages less then Magnus Chase and it’s fun and so funny. With Apollo being a God and then becoming mortal and him thinking that he can do and have all this stuff makes it so much.

Percy and his mom and many other characters make appearances in this book which is alway fun. The end leaves on a sort of cliff hanger and now I can’t wait for the next one.

Amy and Roger’s epic detour

7664334

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

This was the cutest thing EVER!! This book made me laugh and fall in with the characters and the story. There wasn’t one thing I didn’t love about it. I never wanted the epic detour to end.

Beautiful Creatures

a1c65fd24a8975cb50771a77226b65ca.jpg

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

Compared to what I was told about this series, I enjoyed it. Lena and Ethan were adorable and they were characters that I liked. The story kept me on my toes and it sort end on a cliffhanger. I meant felt like it to me. I didn’t enjoy some of the background characters but the rest of the makes up for that.

The Secret Diamond Sisters

20607739

Rating: -B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

This book is like Gossip Girl. It’s full of rich kids drinking, having sex, and stabbing each other in the back but it was fun to read. It took a while for me to like some of the characters like Savannah or Peyton because they made the dumbest choices. They did grow in the end and I love Courtney though. All the characters seem to be dating everyone (which is also like Gossip Girl). I don’t mind that it’s like Gossip Girl because those books and the show are my guilty pleasures. The character Madison, the mean girl, was my least favorite. Not because she the mean girl but because she hated theses girls for no reason. She first meets them and makes the choice to hate them. She also in love with three of guys in each part of the story. First we have Brett, then Oliver, and then Damien. I’m not trying to be mean about that but I couldn’t tell who she was into because she would say she had feelings for them and be jealous every time a girl was with them and then called them her best friend. Like make up your mind!

The book is very fun and if you like teenage dramas and easy reads then I recommend this book. Now I must find the second one.

Wonder

121009_DX_WonderBook.jpg.CROP.article250-medium

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

From the moment I started this book, I knew that I was going to cry. The book changes point of views giving different views on Auggie. Man this book was hard to get through not because it was boring but because it was so heartbreaking. It was still so cute at some point and this book was amazing.

Lucky Penny

LUCKYPENNY-MARKETING_press-preview-1-1

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

A very funny graphic novel that was recommended to me by my little sister. It was so funny from Penny’s bad luck, the crazy little kids, Penny talking about adult novels like they’re no big deal to the happy ending.

The Darkest Minds

10576365

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

This is a dystopian novel about kids with superpowers which they get if they survive a illness. They’re are different categories of superpowers and the kids with superpowers are sent to detention centers. A very unique take on a dystopian future but it still wasn’t something I hadn’t read before. Plus I kinda of find Ruby annoying.

Forever Doon

27779008.jpg

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

*i got this book as an arc

I went to ALA and wait in line of this book of an hour and then read it in a day. It was so worth it. I’ve bee I love with this series forever and now I’ve finished and I just want to cry. This book was short like the rest but it still wrapped everything and had so much action and love and heartbreak and made want to hold onto Doon and the characters forever. It has a happy ending and this series will now hold a place in my heart.

P.S. I still love you

p-s-i-still-love-you-9781442426733_hr

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

I love this book was so much fun! It does follow the sequel cliches a little bit but the story and characters do make up for that. Now this series has one more book and I can’t wait to see how that next books plays out.

Seven Tears at High Tide

25837167.jpg

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

This book was so cute! It was basically a new take on the little mermaid. Even though Morgan is half human / half selkie. This book was so adorable and I love the relationship between the characters and how it grew throughout the story.

Gilt Hollow

6.jpg

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

*i got this book as an arc

Lorie Langdon keeps writing books and I keep falling in love with them. This is very different from Doon but it was still great. I did call who really did it through.

Highly Illogical Behavior 

26109391

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

The summary for this book was misleading but I still really like it.

The Women in the Walls

28367592.jpg

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

*i got this book as an arc

This book was so freaky! It took awhile for me to get into the plot but was everything picks up the creepier and more intense it got. It was so good! I was able to get see this author talk at a panel which was fun too. There were so many twist and turns that makes this story a good one.

And that was my summer reads! Or my June and July reads. I hoped you enjoyed this and are you having a great summer. Also two posts in one week, I don’t know if i can always do that but it will probably just stay one post a day. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links and check out my link page for more ways to find stuff by me!

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

