YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! | We Were Liars by E. Lockhart rant/review

Greetings everyone! Today I’m reviewing / ranting We were Liars by E. Lockhart.

SPOILERS

16143347

Here I am frozen, when I deserve to burn.”

Rating: D: Nothing seem to happen. The characters had a bad attitude or were boring until the end. Story didn’t know what it wanted.

I wanted to read this book for a long time because everyone was reading it and everyone was loving it so I was just like man I need to read this book. So I went out one and there was a deal at the book store of the book and I was just like it’s probably faith. I went home and I read it and I hated it.

Maybe it was because it was over hyped or maybe just because it’s really like Mara Dyer and Divergent, I’m like the only person who hates it and I’m not looking at the way everyone else is but I just hated it. I’ve read books by E. Lockhart and I’ve thought that all those books were cute and fun but I hated this book. The characters sucked and the plot line was sooooooooooo confusing! One minute everyone was happy and then in the next minute something happened and everyone is a emotionally unstable and messed up from it and I’m just like WHAT IS HAPPENING!

We are Sinclairs. Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liar. We live, least in the summertime, on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts. Perhaps that is all you need to know.”

So the main character is Cadence and she is a little whiney girl. All she does through out this book is pinned over this Gat guy and talk about her life and her messed up family and bah bah bah. I couldn’t stand her and this Gat guy was much worse. I hated him. I get that most young adult books have characters like him. Characters who acted like they don’t care everything when they really do and they just keep dragging the lead on and in the end they still come out as good characters. I can’t stand these characters and they’re in like every book ever.

Cadence always goes to this summer house with her family members and it’s been like that for fifteens summers and during the fifteenth summer something happens. Her and cousin call their group the Liars for some reasons that was probably mention but I don’t remember and I don’t care. The fifteenth summer there after something happens, Cadence is found in the water only in her underwear. Then everything starts changing for her and her relationship with her cousins and her whole family.

The thing about this book is that something has happened in the future and we don’t know what that is and either really does the lead character, Cadence. The half of the book is her explaining her family, her friends, and her life before the accident that she has been through later on in the series and then second half is her trying to figure out what happened in that accident because she doesn’t remember anything. This is something that I liked about the book. It could have been like most books where the narrator knows things that we don’t and we have to piece together everything but she doesn’t know anything and no one will tell her what the hell happened!

Besides from that though this story didn’t really anything but sometimes it would get really good. Sometimes I didn’t totally hate Cadence. As the story went through the last half of the book she did some things that I liked but all of that went away in the ending.

Someone once wrote that a novel should deliver a series of small astonishments. I get the same thing spending an hour with you.”

*can’t say the same thing about this book

I’m now talking about the ending and plot twist and how it annoyed me. So after Cadence spending the another half of the book just complaining about how she doesn’t remember what happened and everyone is just like you don’t what to remember but she remembers and that is when the disappointment and anger hits. It turns out that Cadence and her cousins got drunk and decide since they are done with their parents fighting over the inheritance  they need to set the house on fire.

And then all Cadence’s friends die in that fire. In the second half of the book they are just ghosts that Cadence made up so that she wouldn’t have to deal with her guilt because the fire was her idea.

WHAT KIND OF ENDING IS THAT???????????

You've_gotta_be_kidding_me_gif.gif

SERIOUSLY! IS THIS THE SIX SENSE?? I’M PRETTY SURE THAT IT IS NOT!!! I DID NOT SIGN UP FOR MARA DYER PART FOUR *read my mara dyer review here!!!!!!!!! This book wasn’t what I signed up for. I don’t think story lines where everything turns out to be a dream or was just apart of someones imagination it was one of the reasons I hate Mara Dyer. I hate this book. I think that it was a waste of time and I wouldn’t want to read it again.

And that’s my review my ladies and gentlemen. I hope you enjoyed this fun rant / review. I’m sorry if you like this book but this is just my opinion so. Have you guys read this book? If you have, do you like it or do you hate it? Let me know. I’m sorry that I posted this late but school is back up so I’ve been busy. I hope you enjoyed this and I post once every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

tumblr_nsvhcix7Vv1uah4hxo4_500.gif

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

