I forgot how annoying the first book was | City of Bones by Cassandra Clare review

Greetings everyone! Today I’m posting my review of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, the first book in the Mortal Instruments series!

WARNING SPOILERS

256683-315x475

Rating:-B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

So I decide to re read the Mortal Instruments because it’s a really great series and I love it! I also wanted to have reviews for all the books and I read the books in the correct order with the Infernal Devices because I didn’t do that the first. I’ll be reviewing stuff for the Shadowhunter Chronicles up until the releases of Shadowhunters Season two and Lord of Shadows.

This book follows Clary Fray who one night goes out to club and watches a man get killed by three people and she was the only one who saw. She is thrown into this whole different world with demons and demon hunters called Shadowhunters and it’s crazy! I read this book like a year ago *yes i was late to the fandom leave me alone! and I didn’t really like it. I mean I knew that it was one of those books where you have to push through it to get to the good stuff but man this story is soooo slow and full of cliches. It was hard to re read this book because I was so bored. The first time I read this book it took me like two weeks to read this book and it took me like a week to re read and the whole time I was just thinking man I can’t wait for this series to finally pick up!

This book starts a lot of things that didn’t really carry on. I get that it’s an introduction book but my god so things were started but they completely change in the next book. I guess that’s a good thing because I didn’t like any of the things in this book. I thought the whole Clary, Simon, and Jace love triangle was stupid. I didn’t really like most of the characters in this as much as I do in the other ones.

Alec was a douchebag in this book because he was in love with Jace and Izzy was okay in this book. But Jace’s sass level was like off the charts and I loved it.

Is this the part where you start tearing off strips of your shirt to bind my wounds?”
“If you wanted me to rip my clothes off, you should have just asked.”

I still loved Simon though. I will always love Simon. When Alec and Magnus met I was just fangirling so hard because Malec is my OTP and they are so cute! Alec was just talking about how he didn’t like Warlock and I was just thinking oh you grow to love them so much.

One the things I disliked about this book when I first read and that I still don’t like now is that it has a lot of cliches. It got a girl who is young and has a mother that doesn’t really let her do a lot. She has this friend that has feels for her but she doesn’t feel the same way. One night she goes out and see something that changes her life forever. She mets a dark and mysterious handsome boy and his friends who are apart of the strange world. Suddenly once she enters that new world stuff starts happening and it’s all around her and she somehow is different from everyone else.

Basically very fantasy cliches in the book.

It still is good if you can get over all the cliches and rule number one for this book is that you have to push through it to get to all the good stuff like character development and much better and cuter ships. There is something that is little different and that was the fact Hodge the Shadowhunter gangs favorite teacher was the one of the people helping Valentine who is Clary’s dad and she isn’t happy that your mother lied to her again about her life. Valentine then tells her that Jace the guy that she has very strong feeling and made out with is her brother. What a star wars plot twist!

I think Clary and Jace are a cute couple and when this was announced, I didn’t believe at all. I know couples in fiction go through stuff but this wasn’t likely. These two had too much chemistry for them not to end up together.

Valentine is an okay villain. I didn’t like but I wasn’t always scared about what he would do because he wasn’t that intense of a villain. He is crazy and he is a cult leader but other then that I didn’t love him as a villain.

This book isn’t the best in the series but it is a good introduction for the Shadowhunter world. I think that everyone needs to give this book a shot and find love in this series because I think it is one of my favorites of all time. Have you guys read the Mortal Instruments? If you have what did you think? I hope you enjoy this review and I post once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

65641-baby-bye-bye-bye

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

10 thoughts on “I forgot how annoying the first book was | City of Bones by Cassandra Clare review

Leave a Reply

