Fights and Attitudes but still awesome | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas review

Greetings everyone! Today I’m reviewing Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series.

WARNING SPOILERS

queen-315x475

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

I have now read all four books in the Throne of Glass series. I have a review for Throne of Glass here, a review for Crown of Midnight here, and then Heir of Fire here. I thought Throne of Glass was okay, I thought Crown of Midnight was great, and I thought Heir of Fire was the best thing ever! I started this book with such high hopes and I over hyped for myself which is something I do a lot. Don’t get me wrong I still loved this book. It’s just there are somethings about this book that I didn’t love as much as the last book.

I did love the fact that Chaol and Celaena’s ship is dead. Yeah that was great because I hated them together. This book follows Celaena who now goes by Aelin because if you don’t remember in the last book, she decide that she was the long lost princess with the long name and she wouldn’t be afraid *i’m making fun of the end quote from Heir of Fire. She goes and meets up with this guy named Arobynn who is from her assassinating days. He tells her about her cousin who after the events of Heir of Fire is in prison by Dorian’s dad and he will help her find Aedion if they bring down the Valg people.

This book wasn’t my favorite, I should start by saying that. I don’t know if it was because everyone had told me that this book was just crazy and awesome or maybe it’s like how Mockingjay was for me. I was soo into the last book that when I get into the next book I’m just disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, this book didn’t totally suck there were parts in it that I was just screaming and crying during but for most of the parts, I was just like can we get back to the good stuff. For the whole book, Aelin has this whole I’m a like the true heir to be  the fairy queen now so I’m going to have this bitchy attitude for the whole freaking book.

I’ve never wanted to punch character so bad. Well that’s not true. I always wanted to punch Chaol. So if it came down to a choice, I would want to punch Chaol more then I want to punched Aelin. We do met some new characters in this book like Lysandra who is also from Aelin’s assassin pass and they hated each other. She is pretty badass. At first I didn’t like her but then she goes and like goes against that Arobynn and kills him and I’m like YAS bitch because he was shady as hell. Sincerely, he uses this ring thing in one part to control Aelin and it was soo creepy. Lysandra also takes are of this little girl.

One part of this book that break my heart was Dorian. He has been through so much like he went through some shit in the last book but we had no idea what happened next. And then we finally met him after everything in Aedion’s point of view and he was dick and he was still working for his dad. I’m just like my child what happened? Then he get his point of view and he has no idea what the hell is going on. We learn later on that he has been taken over by a demon. They all break into the castle because they are doing that take down the king thing and Aelin tries to kill Dorian!!!

g3slkoksaw2lvpapeo3l.gif

When Chaol finds out, he like what the hell why would you do that? And I’m just like this is the only time I will agree with you. Dorian is my kid! I love him and HE DESERVES TO BE TREATED BETTER!!! I’m mean I know that this is fiction and fictional characters good though things that make me emotional unstable but Dorian is my cinnamon roll and I love him and he should have a better life then Chaol! If you haven’t guessed it the only main problem I had with this book was Aelin because she decide that she wanted to lean with the whole bitch fairy thing.

I was be excited that I was right about Aelin and Rowan happening. I still think it is weird that they have the same aunt. They also have a weird conversations in this book which I don’t really want to talk about. I still don’t really ship them but I know that they are going to be canon. They are going to be each others mates and yes I think that they are cute at some moments but Dorian. He is my favorite and Sarah J. Maas can’t bring in another guy. He didn’t even go here until the book before this. How can you not ship Dorian and Aelin?

They were infinite. They were the beginning and the ending; they were eternity. The king standing before them gaped as the shield of flame died out to reveal Aelin and Dorian, hand in hand, glowing like newborn gods as their magic entwined.”

They should be together!! She almost gave up the Eye of Elena so that she could save him.

uncaptioned-nybvt-50cb9388716f0.gif

One of my favorites scenes is that kick ass fight scene between Manon and Aelin and man was it the best! Oh yeah I talked about hoping that she grew as a character in this book and she sort of did. She takes care of this girl named Elide and helps along with other person who I can’t remember. So it’s really just a giant fight with Aelin and her squad against the witches but really it’s Aelin and Manon. They go up against each other and it’s CRAZY!!!! Manon is about to die at one point but Aelin saves her and so now she owns something to Aelin which I know that we bring back up the next book, Empire of Storms!

This book like I said wasn’t my favorite but I still liked this book. I’m so excited for Empire of Storms but I’m also not because I’ve heard that it is a emotional roller coaster so chances are I will be found crying in a corner. Have you guys read Queen of Shadows? What did you think? I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

af0ac6460f895a2aa6ff88b7635aa364.gif

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

2 thoughts on “Fights and Attitudes but still awesome | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas review

  1. Pingback: More like the Storms of my EMOTIONS | Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas review | geekygalaxy

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books in 2016 | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

