An less annoying then the first one | City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare review

Greetings everyone! Today I’m posting my review of City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare, the second book in the Mortal Instruments series!

1582996.jpg

Rating: +B: Had a weird pace and took me a while to like the characters.

Desire is not always lessened by disgust. Nor can it be bestowed, like a favor, to those most deserving of it. And as my words bind my magic, so you can know the truth. If she doesn’t desire his kiss, she won’t be free.”

I did a review for the first book and you can read that here. I’m doing reviews of all the books in this series and Infernal Devices along with a Shadowhunter before the second season comes out and Lord of Shadows is released. In this book, Clary and Jace tried to deal with the fact that they are sibling that are attracted to each other and that their dad is a crazy shadowhunter who wants to raise demons and stuff like that. Clary  tries dating Simon and Alec is trying to hide the fact that he isn’t having hot gay sex with Magnus Bane, the high warlock for Brooklyn aka the best character ever.

I thought that the first book was hard to get into and this book was much better then the first book but it’s not my favorite. This book still took awhile to get into but it was easier then the first book. I kind of hated Jace in this book because he decide to be a giant dick to everyone which I get because everyone thinks that he is Valentine’s son and that gets in prison and he loves his sister and she goes off and gets another boyfriend. Which I guess is something that is hard to go through. I mean it’s not something that happens to normal people in everyday life.

Most of this book is just everyone trying to work out their feelings. In this corner we have Clary and Jace we found out that their are siblings and it’s weird because in the last book, they had this really hot kiss scene. Clary decides to try and date Simon who has been in love with Clary since like forever. Jace tries dealing with his feelings in a different away as I same before, he becomes a dick to everyone. He gets into a fight in the beginning at a werewolf club and thank goodness for Luke being there because he would have die. They sort of deal with it but they still think that they are siblings so it is still not totally good with them.

Something inside Clary cracked and broke, and words came pouring out. ‘What do you want me to tell you? The truth? The truth is that I love Simon like I should love you, and I wish he was my brother and you weren’t, but I can’t do anything about that and neither can you!”

In the other corner, we have Alec who is trying really hard to fight his feeling for ‘Jace’ even though we know that he means ‘Magnus’ and he always has to deal with family finding out that he is gay. We get a really funny scene where Alec has a hickey on his neck and Jace sees it and Alec tries to hide it and he does a horrible job. There is also a really cute scene where Magnus loses his strength and Alec is just like take me strength and my heart just can’t take it! I LOVE THEM SO MUCH!

“We’re not dating,” Alec said again.
“Oh?” Magnus said. “So you’re just that friendly with everybody, is that it?”

In the other other corner, we have Simon who is with the girl that he has always liked but then we mets a new girl who is a werewolf and then after a events happen where Simon becomes a vampire and Valentine  kidnapped him, Maya, and Clary and he kills Simon. He kills my CHILD! But something good happens, and Simon lives and can walk outside in the sunlight unlike most vampires. He and Clary break up because she’s in love with her brother and he likes Maya.

This book definitely beats the first book but it still isn’t the best. It really picks up in the next book and I can’t wait to review it. After I review City of Glass I will then do Clockwork Angel which I’m so excited to do. Have you you guys read this book? Did you like it? I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

tumblr_n1thp3YktO1trmkp7o1_400.gif

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

9 thoughts on “An less annoying then the first one | City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare review

Leave a Reply

