YAS! | Lady Midnight By Cassandra Clare Review (repost and redone)

Hello everyone! Today I’m reviewing Lady Midnight, the first book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare!

WARNING SPOILERS

546b72c81f28be9e4a4565b890ccc4b2.jpg

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

There was beauty in the idea of freedom, but it was an illusion. Every human heart was chained by love.”

I have reviews for City of Bones here and City of Ashes here if you would like to get those out. I’m rereading the Mortal Instruments books and Infernal Devices and reviewing along with a Shadowhunter before the second season comes out and Lord of Shadows is released. I wrote this review along time ago and it was really bad. It was like five paragraphs long and I didn’t even talk about the things that I had opinions on. I only talked about a little bit of the plot and then about how much I loved Emma and Julian. Now that my reviewing the rest of the books, I thought that I would go back and fix this review.

I finished this book like a week after it came out because I had it preorder like months before and I had a draft ready for me to start writing and for a review to post but instead I just wrote another different post and reviews. Also for some reason I haven’t been writing that much and I’m on spring break. I’m writing now so that’s all that matters. Last year I read the Mortal Instruments series and it’s was amazing! I became obsessed and this series became one of my favorites. Then I read the Infernal Devices and it was amazingly overhyped but still fantastic! I didn’t love as more then the Mortal instruments as everyone said I would but I love it! When Lady Midnight was available for preorder I PREORDER IT!! *i was going though a mortal instruments and infernal devices withdraw.

Let’s get on with the review!

Lady Midnight is a book that takes five years in the future after City of Heavenly Fire. Our main characters Emma who appeared in City of Heavenly Fire with her parents dying. It take place in LA and it was amazing! For some reason when Cassandra Clare writes a new series, the first book is always my least favorite. I’m not saying that they’re bad, it’s just when the rest of books come out they are always better then the first book *go read my city of bones review, i talk about 

This book was so much better then City of Bones and Clockwork Angel. It’s a giant book though and reading all 700 pages were worth it. Emma was a great protagonist for this book. I don’t know if it was because we have earlier been introduced to them at the last book but it didn’t awhile for me to love these characters. Like in the first chapter we have Emma and her best friend Cristina are talking about Emma’s break up with Cameron because the way Emma handle it was bad and then like Emma’s profile picture for him is a llama and seeing that picture of a llama made her really bad and it was so funny.

I knew that Cameron and Emma weren’t going to say together because in the prologue, they are together and there was nothing there. None of that famous Cassie Clare chemistry that we all love and wish we had. But Emma did have that with her parabatai, Julian who is hot as hell and I might steal him from her but I love Emma and Julian! They are so cute and WAY IN LOVE! I mean this quote:

When you love someone, they become a part of who you are. They’re in everything you do. They’re in the air you breathe and the water you drink and the blood in your veins. Their touch stays on your skin and their voice stays in your ears and their thoughts stay in your mind. You know their dreams because their nightmares pierce your heart and their good dreams are your dreams too. And you don’t think they’re perfect, but you know their flaws, the deep-down truth of them, and the shadows of all their secrets, and they don’t frighten you away; in fact you love them more for it, because you don’t want perfect. You want them. You want—”

He broke off then, as if realizing everyone was looking at him again.

“You want what?” said Dru with enormous eyes.

“Nothing,” Julian said. “I’m just talking.”

YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT!!! YOU TALKING ABOUT EMMA, JULIAN!!!! The thing about any Cassie Clare couple is that they go through something that is very hard to go through. Jace and Clary went through when they thought that they were siblings and then we found out they weren’t siblings but Clary has a crazy brother who scares the living shit out of me. Magnus and Alec went through Alec’s coming out and dealing with the fact that Magnus is immortal and Alec isn’t. Will and Tessa went through the fact that she was engaged to Jem and she loved Jem and Jem was Will’s parabatai, Jem and Tessa went through the fact that Tessa was in love Will. Emma and Julian are parabatai and they clearly have feelings for each other but parabatai can not be romantically involved.

They are trying to push through their feelings but as pass books have shown as that doesn’t work well. I really curious about how all this is going to work because the parabatai bond is very strong magic so if they wanted to break the bond what the damage of breaking the bond be? Also what happened to Emma during that fight scene? She was fighting with Malcolm Fade *the shade warlock who wishes he was as cool as Magnus Bane and something happens and she gets strike by something and I think that something happened to her and I need Lord of Shadows right now because I want to know what happens next!!!!

Malcolm Fade is so shady. Like I was reading this at first I like cool another Warlock but then we met Malcolm and I was just like no. I was right though because he is evil! He was trying to bring back this evil chick named Annabel and she does in the epilogue. I watched a review and they talked about a line where Malcolm says something that foreshadows what he does in the end and I just like how did I miss that?

Julian also has a brother named Mark who was taken by the faerie five years earlier and at first I didn’t know what to think about him and this faerie named Kieran but then like five seconds I’m like shipping them like there is no tomorrow. They are really cute and I love them.

I can’t wait to continue reading about them and all the other characters. Jace, Clary, Tessa, and Magnus made an appearance in this book and Robert said something about his daughter’s engagement party?!?!?  There is a short story in the back of the hardcover edition called a long conversation and I didn’t even know about it until I went to Violin and my teacher who I got into the Mortal Instruments was talking about it. I had to borrow her copy of Lady Midnight so that I could read.

In a Long Conversation, Isabelle and Simon get engaged after Simon watches Izzy kill a demon and they are having an engagement party. Everyone is so grown up on and it warms my heart. Sizzy is getting married, Clary and Simon are parabatai, Malec has two kids, and Clary and Jace are still together. So Jace takes Clary aside from the part and he proposes to her and she doesn’t say anything and then they get a call telling them to go to LA and deal with everything that just happened in the Lady Midnight plot. I also need to know about that. Lord of Shadows comes out April 11, 2016 and here is the cover!

LOS_cover.jpg

There is so much happening in that one cover and it just makes what to read it more. This book is go to introduce us to either the Last Hours or the Wicked Powers I don’t remember which one but it’s one those and it takes place in London. I’m so excited! I have already preorder Lord of Shadows. I had so much fun getting back into the Shadow world and teaming up with Shadowhunters! This book was amazing and I love every minute of it.

It was slow for a the first part of the book but it picked it self up and leaves you with an ending that makes you want more. I think everyone should read the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices and then this book because it’s amazing. You should read Tales of Shadowhunter Academy before this because I didn’t and that was a huge mistake. This review is now much better being like 1000 words longer then it was before. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Bookclub: The Geeks of the Galaxy on Goodreads

 

9 thoughts on “YAS! | Lady Midnight By Cassandra Clare Review (repost and redone)

  1. Pingback: The Pokémon Go Book Tag! | geekygalaxy

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books in 2016 | geekygalaxy

  3. Pingback: Shadowhunters Season One review! | geekygalaxy

  4. Pingback: It’s just so beautiful and amazing and how dare these books give me feelings! | The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare series review | geekygalaxy

  5. Pingback: Like what is happening? | A Very short review of City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare | geekygalaxy

  6. Pingback: DAMN! | City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clara review | geekygalaxy

  7. Pingback: YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK! | Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare | geekygalaxy

  8. Pingback: My heart! It hurts! | City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare | geekygalaxy

  9. Pingback: LIKE WHERE DO I EVEN BEGIN!?!? | Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

