More like the Storms of my EMOTIONS | Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas review

Greetings earthlings! Today I’m review Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas, the fifth book in the Throne of Glass series!

WARNING SPOILERS

AND LANGUAGE

SERIOUSLY I HAVE NEVER CURSED THIS MUCH IN A REVIEW

28260587

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

Aelin had promised herself, months and months ago, that she would not pretend to be anything but what she was. She had crawled through darkness and blood and despair-she had survived.”

 We are back with my Throne of Glass reviews. I have reviews for all the other books which you can check out with my Throne of Glass here, Crown of Midnight here, Heir of Fire here, and Queen of Shadows here. This is the fifth book in the series for some I really want to call it the sixth one and after this one we have one more and then the series is over! I don’t know how it will end because so much stuff happened in this book and it was all too much and I’m just like how our we going to able to do everything in the end. So much shit happened in this book like I stand by what the title of this review is called.

A storm is coming. A great storm.”

This in this book everyone is a lot better in this then they were in the last book as I talked about in my review. I mean I still don’t like Aelin that much because this bitch be crazy and she kills everyone *i love her but she drives me insane sometimes. Let’s just say that this book is crazy and I only want to cry. Like 98% of these tears were of sadness and then 2% were of the happiness of that Chaol isn’t in this book. He is mention like a couple times but he isn’t in this whole book and I loved it and I hope it stays that way.

If you haven’t read my other reviews then you know that I think Chaol is a major asshat. He was so rude to Aelin in the first book and I couldn’t get pass that. Dorian on the other hand was sweet and kind and is a prince with dark hair and blue eyes *i love dorian with you didn’t know. In Queen of Shadows, it was like their ship was just dead and I was very happy about that. Dorian and Aelin were my number one ship in this series and they happened for awhile but then she was just like you’re the prince and I’m the champion this can’t work’ and I was just like what why would do that *seriously i need to stop that’s book one stuff if you want that the link is up top. 

I really thought that they would end up together but then Rowan came into the picture. I was hoping that it was only for one book and that Dorian would end up being her mate but in this book we figure out that Aelin and Rowan are mates and they began husband and wife and then they have sex on the beach which is a beautiful but strange scene and this is the first R rated book in the series. Their are on a beach and they are going at it and then Aelin is like on fire so the sand is turning into glass. It’s just so weird but it’s beautifully written. How is Rowan during this scene is he like getting burned while he is getting laid? What are they going to do with the glass that is now on the beach? Will it disappear? Are they going to put a sign that says there is the glass that was formed when Prince Rowan and Queen Aelin went down on each other?

His wife. Gods above.
He was over five hundred years old – and this… this girl, young woman, she-devil, whatever she was, had just bluffed and lied her way into a job. A sword-thrower indeed.”

I don’t hate Rowan but I don’t think that it is fair that we had these two characters already to love interest and we didn’t need other one *i need to stay on track and i’m pretty sure that I talked about this in the last review. Dorian and Manon is a thing though which I felt like would happen and truth be told I don’t hate it. At first I was just like no but then I was just like yes. There is a scene with them in the tent and so much sexual tense that I don’t think i knife could cut it. Maybe a chainsaw could do it. I love how they are just like witchling and princeling to each other. I never knew how much I would love this and how much I need it in my life. There has to be something between Aelin and Dorian because after he talked to Manon in the hospital, she is like jealous af. How I feel about Rowan and Aelin is like I think they are cute but if something happen to Manon or Rowan, I would be sad but it would open up a chance for Dorian and Aelin.

At one point in the book, Rowan is like flying across the lands for like three days and it keeps mentioning how tired he is and I’m just like something is going to happen. It felt like something was going to go down and Rowan wasn’t going to be left standing because they just kept talking about how tired and weak he was. That didn’t happen though Rowan was left standing and then they did it on the beach *well not right after. i need to start talking about the plot now. I thought a lot of characters were going to die in this book like I thought Dorian was going to die *but i always think that, Manon I thought was going happen because last time we gave Dorian another girl that didn’t end well, Lysandra because of another scene that happen and something is happening between her and Aelin’s cousin.

Elide and Lorcan let’s talk about them for a second. There are so many moments between them and every one of them was great. Like he is just like your clothes are dirty get them wash and you can sleep naked and her reaction was great. Through their time together, Elide was always putting him in his place and I’m just like yas! She had something against Aelin because her mom die protecting her but she is just like I have to go to talk to Celaena and I’m just like oh honey you didn’t get the message. They are the same person and she didn’t know. Like me when it comes to pop culture, tv, and books, she is late to the party.

Lorcan reached out, grasping her chin and forcing her to look at him. Hopeless, bleak eyes met his. He brushed away a stray tear with his thumb. “I made a promise to protect you. I will not break it, Elide.”

“I will always find you,” he swore to her.

Her throat bobbed.

Lorcan whispered, “I promise.”

Let’s be honest this book should just be called Empire of Ships and Emotions.

So I’m going to talk about the plot now and this review is 900 words long and I have barely even mentioned it. Like we have talked in my last reviews the enemies we are facing are called the Valg who are like demons with superpowers that I kind of want but don’t because they also scare me at the same time. My children also have this thing called the Eye of Elena and it is said to help them destroy the Valg. In this back we get some past on Elena and how everything happen because she fucked up. There are these gods right and they make a make a deal with Elena’s parents to help get rid of the the Valg. Her mom does like the first part and her dad is going to do the second part but Elena tries to be helpful and she goes and mess it.

The gods are just like ‘what the fuck? bitch what did you?’

She is just like ‘I was trying help’

Then the gods are like ‘well your dad was going to fix this problem but now he can’t! so the next person who has Valg blood and fire powers or something can fix this’ *if you couldn’t tell I’m paraphrasing the hell out of this. Guess what? Our great and angsty team of royalty has two people that fit the description and it’s Dorian and Aelin. Chances are someone has to dead or do both of them have to die? Because with Elena’s parents both of them were willing to give up both of their lives to make sure those Valgs go away. Did I miss something? If you know anything please tell me because if I can’t WAIT ANOTHER YEAR!!! If Dorian dies, I will kill everyone. Sarah if you’re reading don’t kill Dorian, you have caused enough pain.

#DORIANDESERVESBETTER2016

He gripped her hard, forcing her to meet his eyes as he snarled, “I see you. I see every part of you. And I am not afraid.”
I will not be afraid.
A line in the burning brightness.
My name is Aelin Ashryver Galathynius . . .
And I will not be afraid
.”

This book was fantastic and painful and I love every second of it. Around the end of this book, I was sitting in the car while my mom was getting some stuff from the store and I was just so emotional with everything that was happening. I was in my mom’s car alone and crying because everything was just going down. Eventually I finished and I cried even more because the book ends with Rowan going after Aelin. Like the last line is Rowan saying he is going after his wife or something like. The ending was crazy, everyone is fighting with battles, and I’m so scared that everyone will die because in fantasy books EVERYONE ALWAYS DIES!!! *it’s the truth read game of thrones, wheel of time, and even this series is on that list. 

I had an emotional time reading this book but I loved everything second of this book. This was amazing and I’m so sad that there is only one before the end of series. I can’t believe I waited so long to read this series and it’s now ending. Same of ACOTAR series, there is only one more book, I think. I really love this series and I hate that they are ending. I really hope that no one dies. Let me rephrase that I hope no one that I care about dies. Let me rephrase I really hope that Dorian doesn’t die. If he does then the world sucks.

Power called to power among the Fae. Perhaps Aelin Galathynius was unlucky the cadre had been drawn to Maeve’s power long before she was born, had chained themselves to her instead. Perhaps they were the unlucky ones, for not holding out for something better.”

Empire of Storms was much better then Queen of Shadows and it may have beaten Heir of Fire because it was awesome! Seriously this is my longest review at 2000 words and I meant very word it because it was the best book ever.  It was awesomely, painfully, and beautifully perfect and everyone should read it. Do you guys enjoy this review? What did you think? I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

12.gif

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Bookclub: The Geeks of the Galaxy on Goodreads

One thought on “More like the Storms of my EMOTIONS | Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas review

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books in 2016 | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

