It’s Cute and Christmasy and I love it! | The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan review

Greetings earthlings! Today I’m talking about The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily, the sequel to Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan!

WARNING SPOILERS

cover96057-medium

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

What an idiot Santa is for flying around alone. Because who would want to travel the world without another person’s heartbeat beside him?”

If you don’t know, David Levithan and Rachel Cohn are both my favorite authors because they both write so wonderfully and when both them write together it’s beautiful! They have written a lot of books together like the first Dash & Lily book which was so cute and fluffy and I loved it *they should make it into a movie! Then Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist which is one of my favorite books and one of my favorite movies. Then there is Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List which I don’t love as much but it’s still good *i haven’t seen the movie!

I didn’t read this book because it was on Zoella’s top Christmas book list. If you have been on my blog then you should know that I’m not her biggest *i only find out when I was looking for a cover for this review. 

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares came out about 2010 and this book came in October but it only takes a year later. I got this book in June when I met David Levithan which was AWESOME! I told him that he was my favorite author and my sister took a picture and it’s just looking at him in awe because I love him! If Rachel Cohn had been then I would have died!

img_2842

*here’s a picture of my signed copy

This book was so cute and everything that I need because I was looking for a Christmas book to read and this one was just perfection! Lily is going through some hard times and Dash and her family try to do a much of stuff to try and cheer her up. I read Dash & Lily two years ago which is about Lily leaving a book in a store which is full of dares and that’s how her and Dash met and I thought the first book was so cute but I loved this book so much more than I did the first.

This book was so much fun to read because it’s adorable and I read during Christmas time so that made it even more special. Lily and Dash are just so cute together! I love them as a couple. Lily and Dash could be idiots at some points when they both question each other love. Lily accidentally saying that she loved Dash and he didn’t say back and then Dash tries to make Lily happy and it doesn’t work so both of them are just oh they don’t love me and I’m like come on guys really.

There are so many moments in this book that just make my heart explode. Some explosion where from pain and then some where from happiness of watching their relationship blossom!

I love you, and it’s driving me crazy to see you so upset. I want to fix it, and I know I can’t. But what I want to do is rewrite this whole world so you can fix it. I want to come up with a story that all the world will choose to celebrate, and in it, the people we love will never get sick, and the people we love will never be sad for long, and there would be unlimited frozen hot chocolate. Maybe if it were up to me I wouldn’t have the whole world collectively believe in Santa Claus, but I would definitely have them collectively believe in something, because there is a messed-up kind of beauty in the way we can bend over backward to make life seem magical when we want to. In other words, after giving it some thought , I think that reality has the distinct potential to complete suck, and the way to get around that is to step out of reality with someone you completely, unadulteratedly enjoy. In my life, that’s you. And if it takes dressing up like Santa to get that across to you, then so be it.”

There were also moments in this book were I was just so emotional. When I get emotional during a book, I put the book on my head and I did that so many times. Like I said, Lily is going through some hard times and those hard times affect her relationship with Dash. She disappears twice in this book because of everything and she also tries to break up with him and he is just like no we can get through this and they have a fight and it was too much!  Dash just wants to make her happy so at one point in the book he agrees to the break up and I’m dying! They also do other things each day that has something to do with the days of Christmas.

If I had to pick one flaw about this book is that I didn’t like the side characters. They good characters but I didn’t enjoy that much. I didn’t like any of their family members like Lily’s brother because most of the book he just passes judgment on Dash as he blames Dash for Lili’s action which is really wrong because she makes her own decision and sometimes he passes judgment on Lily and I’m just like leave my kids alone! Dash’s friends are okay but if I’m being honest I still don’t find that great. That’s the only that I really have to complain about this book.

It was so much fun to read. Most of this book is like a mixed of angst and fluff which is something that I really love but it always causes me pain and then the last part of the book is just pure fluff and that just made me love it even more! You guys should read this book and then every other book by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn because they are amazing! Have you guys watched this show? If you have what did you think of it? Did you love it as  much as I did? I hope you guys enjoy this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

Leave a Reply

