Favorite Books in 2016

Greetings earthlings! This the year is coming to an end I’ll my talking about my favorite books this year. I did this last year which you can read here but I’m only doing books this year! I didn’t read that many book as much as I did last year which was 252 and I read 153 this year. I recording everything that I read to this year because I forget most of the things I read last year.  I according everything that I read to this year which I didn’t do last year and I regret that.….Let’s get started!


Books!

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

28356624

First on my list is the first book I read this year, which is Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and that was first also the first book I read last year. This is the fanfiction that Cath writes in Fangirl which follows Simon Snow and Baz and they fall in love and it’s so beautiful I love it! I pushed this book on like fifty different people including my sisters and my little made a tumblr for this book. I need like sequel no I need a whole series for this book. I loved the characters and I ship Simon and Baz so hard!


Wheel of Time books 6 -14 by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

tumblr_ndktgf4idh1tf2otqo1_1280

I had the first five Wheel of Time books on my 2015 list and since then I have finished the series and written two reviews on this series which you can find here and here. I never stop mentioning these books because they are awesome and I love them. If you have been around then you have probably heard the many stories of my journey with this series and if you haven’t then just go read my reviews.


Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare 

546b72c81f28be9e4a4565b890ccc4b2

I just redid my review for this book like two weeks ago so check that here. This book was kickass and emotions and I loved it! I know that most people don’t put first books on their favorites list but I’m doing for this one and my next pick because they were so amazing!


Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

51Cpf+z1U+L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Again this is a first book in a series but it’s still going on this list because this book is great! I love the characters, the plot, and all the magical elements in this book and it takes place at Baltimore which is an awesome house and I don’t live that far away from it so I go there all the time *not all the time but you get what I’m saying. I have two copies of this book one on my kindle which is the one I read the first time and then I went to ALA where Robert Beatty was signing and then I got another hardcover copy signed and then a signed arc of the second book which I haven’t read. Robert Beatty follows me on twitter so I think that’s awesome!


November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november-nine-9781501110344_lg

I like Colleen Hoover books like they are fun and easy to read but I’ve never called one my favorite but this one just blew me out of the water! It was beautiful and crazy and I’ve read so many times this year it’s crazy.


The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kirstoff

These books are epic! This is coming from a person who has read like three science fiction book including these. They are so pretty too! One of the reasons I started Illuminae was because it was so pretty and written in such a creative way. Funny story about my copy of Gemina, I got it at ALA when I was looking for a pair of rainbow sunglasses for my little sister and I find a pile of Gemina copies and I grabbed one and it had a giant sticker on it talking about the audio book. I spent like an hour trying to get the sticker off without ruining the book and I WAS SUCESSFUL!


Wonder by R.J Palacio

121009_DX_WonderBook.jpg.CROP.article250-medium

From the moment I started this book, I knew that I was going to cry. I was in the car when I was reading it and my mom was like ‘you aren’t allowed to cry in the car!’ so I was just trying to hold in tries.The book changes point of views giving different views on Auggie. Man this book was hard to get through not because it was boring but because it was so heartbreaking. It was still so cute at some point and this book was amazing.


Amy & Rodgers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

7664334

This was the cutest thing EVER!! I can’t believe that I waited so read this book because it was great! This book made me laugh and fall in with the characters and the story. There wasn’t one thing I didn’t love about it. I never wanted the epic detour to end.


The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan 

26252859

So much fun! The Percy Jackson books have always been fun and adventurous books and this book and Magnus Chase are going back to how it was in the beginning. I loved this book more then Magnus Chase thought mainly because Magnus Chase was huge and went on for a long time. This book was 200 pages less then Magnus Chase and it’s fun and so funny. With Apollo being a God and then becoming mortal and him thinking that he can do and have all this stuff makes it so much. Percy and his mom and many other characters make appearances in this book which is alway fun. The end leaves on a sort of cliff hanger and now I can’t wait for the next one.


Forever Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

27779008

I have a review for this here. I went to ALA and wait in line of this book of an hour and then read it in a day. It was so worth it. I’ve bee I love with this series forever and now I’ve finished and I just want to cry. This book was short like the rest but it still wrapped everything and had so much action and love and heartbreak and made want to hold onto Doon and the characters forever. It has a happy ending and this series will now hold a place in my heart.

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

6

Lorie Langdon keeps writing books and I keep falling in love with them. This is very different from Doon but it was still great. I did call who really did it through. I have a review for this book here.


Seven Tears at High Tide by C.B. Lee

25837167

 This book was so cute! It was basically a new take on the little mermaid. Even though Morgan is half human / half selkie. This book was so adorable and I love the relationship between the characters and how it grew throughout the story. This was just so adorable and I loved them together.


Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

tumblr_static_909hq434xo0s0oowswwwo4gsc_640_v2

It took me so long to get into this series and I finally read it this year and holy crap it was amazing! Each book got better for each one! I thought that Throne of Glass was okay, Crown of Midnight was good, Heir of Fire was badass, Queen of Shadow was great, and Empire of Storms was fucking awesome! I have different reviews for all the books which you can find here, here, here, here, and here. The last books is coming out next year and I’m not at all ready for it come!


This fun! I may make a least favorite books list because that seems it’s going to be a lot of fun. I hope you guys enjoy this list and are following my book club here and other social media links. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Bookclub: The Geeks of the Galaxy on Goodreads

One thought on “Favorite Books in 2016

  1. Pingback: Least Favorite Books of 2016! | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

