Shadowhunters Season One review!

Greetings earthlings! Today I’m reviewing Shadowhunters season one because season two comes on tonight and what the hell I forgot to post this earlier in year!

9b0dbeac-91a8-4464-9079-861f2891cf50

Rating: -B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

Shadowhunters is based on the Mortal Instruments books series by Cassandra Clare which I have reviews for City of Bones, City of Ashes, and Lady Midnight out right now. My City of Glass review is coming out soon so look out for that. There already was a Mortal Instruments film and I liked it but no one else seem to but I was really looking out for this show ever since it was first announced and ever since I finished the series. My excited dropped though the more stuff they released because man it looked cheesy as hell and had an actress playing Clary that didn’t seem like the best actress.

 I got what I expect. An okay show with Actors and Actress that some I found great like Alberto Rosendo, Matthew Daddario, Harry Shum Jr., and Emeraude Toubia. They played their characters so well and I loved them. Some I thought were okay which is the rest of the cast. I’m sorry to say that because to be honest I like Dom Sherwood, I thought he was good in Vampire Academy and he is not too bad to look. He very once and a while he seems like a good Jace but sometimes I just don’t like him. Clary on the other hand, she hasn’t been in a lot but man I had a little bit a hope that it was just the trailers making her look cheesy. Nope and what the hell is up with her hair?

f7a45b04-9ddd-4ab6-8edc-d478e4b7656a

Why is it orange? It looks like a wig but it’s not!

I have both pros and cons with this show. One of the cons is that it stopped following the books after two episodes. The first two episodes were pretty close to the book and they were pretty good episodes but then episode three came alone and man that was pretty bad. It was just so weird, episode three was my least favorite. I had a test the day after it air so I couldn’t watch but then I started watching and it took me three days to finish it because I just was bored. Jace takes Clary to this underworld bar and has her make out with a vampire and I’m like what???? Then Izzy is ‘hanging out’ with this fairy dude and I’m again like what????? Then we have got my baby Simon who was kidnapped and is now with Raphael and Camille. Alec is off somewhere.

Another thing was they tried to push the ships too hard. I mean come on?? One of the reasons I loved Magnus and Alec is was just watching their relationship grow and there also was a lot of funny moments with Alec trying to hide their relationship. But in the show they just tried so hard to push them together and it was just weird. I didn’t feel that connected to them or that Alec felt the same way for some episodes.  They also did something that I hate which is bring ship names into the show. I don’t find it funny at all I find it like they are trying too hard to be funny.

We also got this weird arrange wedding thing and I don’t get me wrong that kiss was epic and I think Lydia made the right choice with calling off the wedding so that he could be happy. I wanted the City of Glass kiss though after they had before grown and I didn’t get that. We also didn’t get the great Jace and Clary kiss that we got in City of Bones. We got some lame kiss that happened in front of the whole squad and not the romantic one we got in the book.

There were a lot of errors that were in the shows. Like Mrs. Lightwood is like stone cold to Izzy and nice to Jace and Alec but in the books she was nice to Izzy and Alec because they were her kids and stone cold to Jace. Also Lydia is from the Branwell family and she’s like my grandfather ran one of these and I’m like that’s not what happen did any one read the books.

I do have some pros about the show like I said I loved some the cast and how the portrayed the characters. My favorites are Alberto Rosendo and Emeraude Toubia. I love them so much as their characters and they are both very pretty. Everyone on this show is very pretty. I think that the show got better was it went on and with all this new season two stuff showing and it looks pretty close to the books now. They got the Smallville show runners and I’m currently watching that and I really like it.

This is a show where you shouldn’t go in expecting the books because it’s not going to be the same thing. Go into this to look at a different way of the Mortal Instruments because then you should be able to find some entertainment in watching this show. Do you enjoy the show? If you do then are you excited for the second season which comes back on tonight? I hope you guys enjoy this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

7 thoughts on “Shadowhunters Season One review!

Leave a Reply

