This is just okay | Divergent by Veronica Roth review

Greetings everyone! Today I’m reviewing Divergent by Veronica Roth!

WARNING SPOILERS!

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011

Rating: -C: Was expecting more than I got. Characters didn’t get any development until halfway.

Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”

You all know about this book. You have either read it or saw the crappy movies or you have at least heard of it. This is a popular book in a popular genre that everybody knows about and in 2014 they decide to make films that tried to be like the Hunger Games Films *which didn’t work out. I first found about Divergent from my mom who heard about from my aunt. We brought the first book and I couldn’t get into. Then about a year earlier some my friends had read all the books and they really liked it so I decide to give another try and I still couldn’t get into. Then the film came out and I find again and then a couple more times after that then I got spoiled for the Allegiant, gave up and now I have finally finished it *yay!

I’ve talked about how I’ve think is book is overhyped before and even though I have now read I still really think that. Everyone always talks about how great this book is but I don’t really think that. I understand how everyone can think that and I understand why people hate this book and I’m kind of in the middle. I think that this is book with an okay characters and a storyline that doesn’t really go any where until the last 100 pages.

This book follows Beatrice or Tris as she calls herself later Prior who lives in a dystopian society where everyone is put into different factions. There are four factions which are Abnegation who are the selfless people / the group that everyone makes fun of, Dauntless who are the brave people / soldiers, Erudite who are the smart people / the people who want to rule, Amity who are the peaceful people / hippies, Candor who are the honest fucks that you want to punch in face, and the factionless who are the homeless. When the kids in this society turn sixteen, they have to take a test which decides what faction you will be apart of.

Tris is apart of the Abnegation where she lived with her brother and her parents and because she is in Abnegation people in the different factions like Candor say horrible things about her factions and make of her. She goes to take the test and finds that she doesn’t really fit any of the factions and is this thing called Divergent and the people that rule the government don’t like those people so she is told to lie about her test. Then at the Ceremony where she has to pick what faction she wants, she choices Dauntless and has to try and be strong woman.

It’s a really cliche story that I have read before. Let’s listen them!

  • Story follows a character who is kind of weak and has lived her life following the rules but still doesn’t really fit in.
  • Character finds out one day that they are different from everyone else and is in danger.
  • Character goes to a place that is a little dangerous but safe and has cool people that character befriends but also some dickheads that become the character’s enemy.
  • Character meets a dark and mysterious kind of mean character that is really hot and deep down a giant sweetheart and starts having feelings for them
  • Character slowly grows stronger as they stay and some of character’s friends slowly turn on them.
  • Bad people slowly realize what’s happening and began to take action which leads them to discover the character
  • Character and bad guys fight and character loses people that they love
  • Character and mean hottie escape along with others and the books ends on something beautiful metaphor.

There are probably more but these were some of the ones that were more noticeable. I’ve read most of those cliches over and over again. I look I’m not saying that I didn’t like this book because it’s very cliche, a book can have a lot of cliches and still be good but for that to happen something new has to be brought to the table along with good characters. Nothing really seemed new I mean we have bad guy who goes by the name Jeanine and she isn’t really a ruler but yet she still has power so that’s new. I like the message of the story  which is different from most dystopian book so that’s different but other then that there isn’t a lot here.

Tris is an okay female lead. She wasn’t terrible but she isn’t the best. She complains a lot which really annoys me but what I did like is how she showed everyone who thought she was going to be weak and was the first to leave Dauntless but she proved everyone wrong and I thought that it was pretty cool. She also kind of seems to care too much of what people think of her which is what I thought but she seemed to grow out of that after she finally realized hey I’m divergent I don’t have to prove anything. I didn’t total hate her friends they were cool but they just seemed be there for no reason.

Now Four I have also been really attractive to Tobias and I knew that I was like the guy who acts like a douche but is really a giant sweet heart and I loved him. He was like me favorite part of this whole book. He knows about Tris and he really cares about and he does so much to keep her safe. I love him. He is the best.

I have something I need to tell you,” he says. I run my fingers along the tendons in his hands and look back at him. “I might be in love with you.” He smiles a little. “I’m waiting until I’m sure to tell you, though.”
“That’s sensible of you,” I say, smiling too. “We should find some paper so you can make a list or a chart or something.”
I feel his laughter against my side, his nose sliding along my jaw, his lips pressing my ear.
“Maybe I’m already sure,” he says, “and I just don’t want to frighten you.”
I laugh a little. “Then you should know better.”
“Fine,” he says. “Then I love you.”

This book isn’t the best. It’s not the worst but I enjoy it. Will I read Insurgent? Maybe for what I’ve been told the series kind of goes down with the next two books but maybe I’ll get around to it one day. I know for sure I’m never going to watch the movies again or watch that tv movie or show if it ever happens because I’ve seen like all this stuff about Theo James and Shailene Woodley saying that they no longer what to do Divergent stuff. I do want to read Veronica Roth’s new book called Carve the Mark which takes place in this cool space universe and I love space so I hope to get around and reading that book and maybe I will read Insurgent and may like it who knows. I like Veronica’s writing and I’ve seen a interview with her and she seemed really cool.

If you like this book then that is your opinion and I’m glad you enjoy. If you didn’t then that is also your opinion and I hope you have other books that bring enjoy. I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

Bye.gif

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

3 thoughts on “This is just okay | Divergent by Veronica Roth review

  1. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award! | geekygalaxy

  2. Pingback: This book takes place in space! | Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth review | geekygalaxy

  3. Pingback: Gilmore Girls Book Tag! | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

