Well this was…. something | Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing Children of Eden by youtuber Joey Graceffa and Laura L. Sullivan and this is also my book of the month for my book club.

WARNING SPOILERS

1501146556

Rating: D: Nothing seem to happen. The characters had a bad attitude or were boring until the end. Story didn’t know what it wanted.

But there’s always a price, to every decision.”

I would first like to say that I have nothing against Joey Graceffa or Laura L. Sullivan. I think Joey is a very funny guy, I loved him on the amazing race, he has fabulous hair like it’s so beautiful, and I like some of his songs. Unfortunately I can’t add this book to that list. I had such high hopes for this book. First the storyline sounded new and original dystopian novel about something different the other then the usual storyline. Second look at that cover! It’s gorgeous! Sadly to sad I was disappointed again.

You are probably asking why I read another Youtube book? Well like I said in my review for Girl Online, I wanted to read it because it wasn’t a book about themselves. But I’ve read both books and I didn’t like either of them so maybe I should re visit that. There were a lot of issues with this book but I’m not giving it an F because I enjoyed the beginning of this book but then it went down hill.

This book follows Rowan who is the second child which isn’t allowed in this world with population control. She has been kept hidden in her house while her older brother Ash goes outside and goes to school and does the things she wishes she could do. The people in this universe have like kaleidoscope eyes and after they are born they get surgeries that change their eye to normal since Rowan was like born in secret she has the kaleidoscope eyes. The eyes are cool but they literally have only have one point is that to kept reminding us that she is clearly different from everyone else. After the government people called Green shirts something like that, come to her house and say hey we are going to take your daughter away from you Rowan decides that the only ‘reasonable’ thing to do is to run away in the night *it’s not reasonable I was being sarcastic 

She mets up with Ash and her friend and they go out and have fun like teenagers do. I had a problem with this and it was that the summary of this book says that it follows Rowan after she escapes from the house but this doesn’t even last the whole book. She goes out, hangs out with her brother’s friends and then kisses a girl who she just met I think. Then she goes home! I’m just like bitch why did you go home they are going to take you away! Her mother finds her in her room and tells her hey we have to go then they have a whole conversation about Rowan is different again. Then they run away and her mom dies. She mets a squad of people who don’t like the government and they are like hey come us and then after that it’s just really really cliche.

The main issue I have with this book is that it wants to do too many things and it’s not a series and it’s not even 300 pages. This book wants to have a love triangle with a guy and a girl and it wants to do the whole is broken with a fucked up government and it’s tried and escape the government. This book could have the book it wanted to be if it had been longer and written a little better. We could have gotten more plot and character development if it had been longer. I mean if it turns out to be a part of a series then that’s good maybe we can get more but it still doesn’t really fix anything. The whole story is rushed and very boring. It should have been a bigger book and maybe I would have liked it better. It definitely would have been better.

I did mention that there was a love triangle in this and it involves a girl and a guy. In the beginning of the book where she runs away and meets her brother’s friends and one of them is a girl named Lark. They kiss which is like really really rushed because they met a couple hours before and then she goes home then her mom run away then her mom gets shot and dies and then she mets a group of people who help people like her and she mets this guy who is like the leader and I can’t remember what his name only that it starts with an L so both love interests have names that start with the letter L.

I’m going be honest I don’t remember how is book end. I stopped caring. This book is just really boring with characters I didn’t like or find likable. I don’t know if they escaped the city of Eden or if she helped her brother because their dad gave the order to take him away.  I don’t remember and I don’t really give a shit. This book starts off pretty good but then it falls down. I wouldn’t recommend this book. If you want to read this book then go a head, you may like it who knows.

We all have different opinions in this world which is one of the reasons why America is becoming a dystopian society *I’m sorry that is the only tim I’ll ever talk about what is happening in the world. I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

tumblr_ldlubfh0j21qei4vno1_500

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Bookclub: The Geeks of the Galaxy on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

