MY EMOTIONS! | History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera!

WARNING SPOILERS

25014114

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

Every universe I’ve created lately, your face keeps popping up in it. And I thought that if you can’t be cool with that, then I wouldn’t hate you, but I might need some time for myself until we’ve had enough distance that I can imagine made-up worlds without you automatically appearing.”

This book was one that I knew that I had to read because it was one that had all this stuff around. Like everyone was reading it and booktubers were meeting the author who seems pretty cool and very funny. Luckily for me I was able to get this book at my library because I spent all my money on books and pop tarts. I read this book in one day and that day was Valentine’s day *this is being write in the past and let me just say that this book, History is All You Left Me, BROKE MY FUCKING HEART!!

The emotions I had during this book were insane like just crazy. Literally trying not to cry was like a workout *I mean I still cry a little because like i said it broke my fucking heart. This book follows a boy named Griffin and his exboyfriend Theo has just died and he is going through a hard time. He and Theo had broken up but he had sort of always hoped that he and Theo would just come back together. He starts talking to Theo’s boyfriend Jackson and they start bonding and shit happens.

I knew that this book was going to be sad, I mean just read the description but what makes it even more heart breaking is that it’s in two points of view from the past with Griffin and Theo’s relationship and the aftermath of Theo’s death. You see their friendship from when they were young and then all these other milestones and it’s heartbreaking because the more you read about their past the more you learn in the future and more stuff happens in the future and I’m just like crying.

I was in love and love died and the pain you’ve left isn’t pain I can see myself having the strength to face again.” 

This book had me on my toes because I thought I knew what was going to happen but then turns out not to happen and something completely else happens. Like in the beginning we met Wade who was friends with Theo and Griffin and we met him at Theo’s funeral and Griffin says something about how they used to be friends. My first thought was that maybe he had a bad reaction to finding out about their relationship but no that’s not what happened. He is pretty calm with finding out the only thing he says is that he doesn’t want to be a third wheel and then I’m thinking that must happen.

No that’s not what happens. After Theo and Griffin break up and Theo starts seeing Jackson and Griffin gets jealous, Wade tells him that he needs someone who he won’t be chasing afterwards and then they have sex. They continue having sex and Wade has feeling for Griffin and Griffin decides that he will finally tell Theo about the fact that the two are sleeping together and then Theo dies. He blames himself and I guess sort of Wade for what happened to Theo and then he distances himself from Wade. But after Griffin comes back from California where he sleeps with Jackson and discovers how he was there that night Theo drowned but he went and got a lifeguard but it was too late. And after Griffin finally gets his shit together he goes and he and Wade talk it out and the book slowly finishes with them rebuilding sort of what their relationship.

One thing I really loved about this book was the characters. I mean like I said Griffin has some issues and in the present point of view but you know his first love died and in the end he gets better. Seeing how much his character changes from the past to the present was a big impact on book because it just shows all the different changes that a person could go through. We didn’t get to that with Jackson but I like him as a character. Thing about Adam Silvera’s characters is that they are very human and you can find this very realistic. I just finished More Happy than Not and I finished it at school and I was just like hyperventilating trying to keep myself from just having a complete break down.

Another thing that just broke my heart was Theo and Griffin relationship in general because they were like seriously in love with each other. I’m not kidding. They came out to each other and then started dating and you go through their whole relationship and even after their break up.

There’s got to be some scientific study somewhere that proves your boyfriend’s sweater will keep you warmer and cure you of any illnesses a lot faster, than some Pottery Barn blanket.”

They were really in love with each other which is seriously heartbreaking because even though they aren’t together they are still chasing after each other. I know that your first love is one that you always remember but you do have to let them. Like even though Theo was with Jackson, he still had Griffin hanging, believing that in the future Theo and him will come back to each other and I’m like no met someone else. We find out that Wade was also was chasing after Griffin a lot.

This book was amazing and if you haven’t read this book or any other books by Adam Silvera then I suggest you go and fix that. You will be left in tears but it will be worth it. I hope you enjoyed this review and are following my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Bookclub: The Geeks of the Galaxy on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

