This book takes place in space! | Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth.

WARNING SPOILERS

559918

Rating: +C: A work in progress. Okay writing, not so great characters and story line but pulled through and was readable.

You want to see people as extremes. Bad or good, trustworthy or not. I understand. It’s easier that way. But that isn’t how people work.”

 I’m probably the only person who didn’t read this book because they loved Divergent. I’ve talked about how I feel about Divergent *read here if you would like know how i feel and I’ve said that it’s an okay book that is just really overhyped. I was really looking forward to this book because one it takes place in space and two because look at that fucking cover it’s beautiful. I just love it!

This story follows the lives of Crya and Akos. Crya is the sister of the  tyrant of the Shotet and Akos and his brother and taken by the Shotet because their mom was an oracle and the mean guy whose name I have already forgotten thinks that one of them is an oracle. So he kidnaps them and the Akos mets Cyra and you know things happen! There are four parts to this book. The first part mainly follows Ako in the beginning and it’s just his point of view then part two follows Cyra in the beginning with her and her brother and her crazy father and then how her brother sort of became like her father. Then the next two parts follow Akos and Cyra on the ship and how their relationship grows.

I had no idea what to expect from this book, I barely knew the plot before jumping right in, I don’t really read a lot of sci fi books. I’ve always wanted to read more because I love sci fi but thing about it is that every book is hit or miss. That didn’t stop me from reading this book. This book has some good points and has some bad points. Some good points are Cyra, sometimes Akos, sometimes the plot, and the whole space part of it. Some bad things are again sometimes Akos, sometimes the plot, and every other character.

Cyra is good character, she is a strong female character that I enjoyed reading her pov. She was a much better lead then Tris I can tell you that. She also has a lot of struggles like her gift that can give others her pain and her brother uses that gift against others because he is a meanie! She is a great character and just deserves better than all the stuff that happens in her life. Akos is a character that is like Tris. At some points he was a good character and on that I enjoyed but then at other points he annoyed me and was whiny and I got bored reading about him. He just doesn’t know what he wants and oh my god I just wanted him to shut up at some points.

Their relationship could be fun to read at some points and I thought they were cute.

I didn’t choose the blood that runs in my veins, any more than you chose your fate. You and I, we’ve become what we were made to become.”

The storyline was something that could be pretty boring at some times. Like in the beginning I thought this story was thrilling and cool and I couldn’t wait to continue on and then you get to part three and it’s just boring!!!!! It picks up at some points but it’s not as great as it was before and then it just goes back to the way it was before.

This book was something. I think that you either loved it or you hated it as I’ve seen with reviews but as for me  I thought it was okay. I don’t know if I’ll read the next book I probably will but it’s not coming out for like a year so I probably would have forgotten everything that happened in this book. I mean I’ve already forgotten half the names of all the characters in this book.

If you want to read this book then you should read it but you are probably going to get your hopes up. Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

One thought on “This book takes place in space! | Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth review

  1. I thought I was the only one having troubles with the names. Lol. I have issues with this but I really loved the action and the reversal of gender roles. I haven’t decided if I’d continue with the series though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

