DAMN! | City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clara review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing City of Lost Souls, the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare!

Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Lost_Souls_book_cover

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

He’d burn the whole world down til he could dig out you of the ashes.”

WARNING SPOILERS

This is fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series which if you didn’t know I’m re reading the series for the release of Lord Of Shadows. I have already review City of BonesCity of AshesCity of Glass, City of Fallen AngelsLady MidnightThe Infernal Devices, and the first season of Shadowhunters which you should check out. After this book I will only have one book left to review and then I have to review Shadowhunter Academy.

So this book is emotional as hell. Like it’s a roller coster and I love very second of it. Sort. I mean at some points I was just sobbing loudly that some people would call it screaming and then at other points it was pretty rough and I forget what living was. A lot of stuff goes down in this book and it leaves you crying, screaming, and emotionally unstable but not so much that you can’t read the next book.

In this book Jace is gone and everyone is worried but mostly Clary. She goes out looking for him and finds him but it’s not really Jace. He is being controlled by Sebastian who needs him for something. And all three of them lived in a house together and it’s so awkward because Clary loves Jace but Jace isn’t himself and Jace gets trying to sleep with Clary and get her to trust Sebastian and Sebastian is just being the same creepy guy who he has always been but somehow got even creepy. There’s this scene when he’s talking to Clary and he is talking about how he can feel everything that she does to Jace and I’m like dude she’s your sister I know you’re in love with her but it’s gross and weird.

Your Bracelet,” she said. “Acheronta movebo.’ It doesn’t mean ‘Thus always to tyrants.’ That’s ‘sic semper tyrannis.’ This is from Virgil. ‘Flectere si nequeo superos, Acheronta movebo.’ If I cannot move Heaven, I will raise Hell.”

*i couldn’t find a quote of him being creepy but this will do

Izzy and Simon’s relationship is so slowly repairing for the events of City of Fallen Angels. They are so cute. I love them! The whole scene with them in bed and Simon telling her the story of Star Wars was something I never knew I needed. At least they sort of got a happy ending of this book there is another book to talk about *starts crying a little. 

Isabelle waved a hand. “No need to worry, big brother. Nothing happened. Of course,” she added as Alex’s shoulders relaxed, “I was totally passed-out drunk, so he could really have done whatever he wanted and I wouldn’t have woken up.”
“Oh, please,” said Simon. “All I did was tell you the entire plot of Star Wars.”
“I don’t think I remember that,” said Isabelle, taking a cookie from the plate on the table.
“Oh, yeah? Who was Luke Skywalker’s best childhood friend?”
“Biggs Darklighter,” Isabelle said immediately, and then hit the table with the flat of her hand.”That is so cheating!” 

Now we have to talk about Magnus and Alec. The destruction of my heart, my soul. MY HUMANITY! So the last book had the topic of immortality was brought up and started causing trouble in Malec’s relationship and Magnus’ ex-girlfriend tells Alec that she can help with him with all this. So she and Alec met up through out the book until Magnus almost dies in the battle during the end of the book and Alec goes to cut ties but then Magnus is there and he breaks up with Alec and it’s too emotional.

Softly, Magnus said, “Aku cinta kamu.”
“What does that mean?”
Magnus disentangled himself from Alec’s grip. “It means I love you. Not that that changes anything.”

*sobbing/ screaming again

I loved this book and I loved City of Heavenly Fire which I can’t wait to review look out for that. I’m sorry if this reviewed seems rushed I’m just busying all the time now. Like I’m writing this when I should be sleeping. Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Look out for my City of Heavenly Fire review and hopefully more soon. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

8 thoughts on “DAMN! | City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clara review

  1. Is it strange that I really shipped Magnus and Alec and (starting with this book) Simon and Izzy way more than Clary and Jace? Like, I like them, but I never got totally attached. But the other two ships…I may not have shipped them as hard as other couples in TID, but they were both so cute.

    Like

    1. I’m the same way. I don’t know why but I’ve never loved Clary and Jace as much as I’ve loved everyone else. Everyone else including people in TID and TDA I shipped a lot harder than them

      Like

Leave a Reply

