My heart! It hurts! | City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing City of Heavenly Fire, the sixth book in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare!

WARNING SPOILERS

Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Heavenly_Fire_book_cover

Rating: + A: Perfect book with get characters and fantastic plot line.

Heroes aren’t always the ones who win,” she said. “They’re the ones who lose, sometimes. But they keep fighting, they keep coming back. They don’t give up. That’s what makes them heroes.” 

This is sixth book in the Mortal Instruments series which if you didn’t know I’m re reading the series for the release of Lord Of Shadows which comes out in three days turns out I got the date wrong so these are going to be late. I have already review City of BonesCity of AshesCity of GlassCity of Fallen Angels, City of Lost SoulsLady MidnightThe Infernal Devices, and the first season of Shadowhunters which you should check out.   After this review I’m done with Mortal Instruments reviews, I mean I will stay review Shadowhunter Academy but after I do other things because I have so much to write about if you didn’t read the crazy beginning to my City of Fallen Angels review.

Okay City of Lost Souls was rough and left me crying but this book, this emotional roller coster of a final book nearly destroyed me! Like it’s too much! It felt like there Cassandra Clare was just beating me with this book. The book starts off with us meeting a new character Emma Carstairs who is our female lead for the Dark Artifices and this is her the day her parents died. We get a chance to know her and everyone else that becomes apart of the Dark Artifices series which is something that I loved and I talked about that a little in my Lady Midnight review.

I love the fact that we had a chance to met these characters when they were younger and experience what happened before the Lady Midnight. I just felt like I had a better connection with them because I already knew them and I didn’t really get that with the characters in this series or the other series. The characters reappear through out the book about it’s mostly Emma and Julian and I also loved the young Emma and Julien moments. Like the sword is used on all the Blackthorns and Emma is trying to stand up for them and she’s like ‘no I saw Sebastian and I stabbed too so just leave them alone’ and I’m like ‘YOU GO GIRL!’.

There is also this moment and I loved it.

We could—” he started, then stopped, swallowed, and started again. “We could become parabatai.” 
He said it shyly, half-turning his face away from her, so that the shadows partially hid his expression. 
“Then they couldn’t separate us,” he added. “Not ever.” 
Emma felt her heart turn over. “Jules, being parabatai is a big deal,” she said. “It’s—it’s forever.” 
He looked at her, his face open and guileless. There was no trickery in Jules, no darkness. “Aren’t we forever?” he asked.”

*emma and julian forever! i don’t know how I’m going to get through lord of shadows! because lady midnight was just too fucking much okay!

We have our little shadowhunter gang trying to fight back against Sebastian. Simon and Izzy are dating sort and Clary and Jace are definitely dating but they get do much because Jace has the heavenly fire in him so if they want to get busy then is there a chance he could set Clary on fire *which you know isn’t good. Alec is still upset about the fact that he and Magnus are broken up but let me tell you that doesn’t stop Alec from dropping sass like there is no tomorrow and there are still some steamy and sweet moments between the two. Sebastian is still creep as fuck! Like he is just going through this book killing people and doing terrible things and still being a creepy motherfucker and all I’ve done through out these last two books but in this book near the end Sebastian kicks the bucket.

And it’s heartbreaking!

It wasn’t fair! All I have done through out these books is hate him but then after Clary tricks him into thinking that she is on his side and then she’s stabs him and all the demon blood like leaves him and he becomes Jonathan which was who he was before he was like Sebastian and he is like saying he’s sorry to everyone and I’m like HOW DO YOU MAKE ME CARE ABOUT HIM RIGHT AS HE’S DYING???? WHO DOES THAT? More emotional moments come when like our group is in a demon realm and there is like a demon who shows you what it thinks you want and it literally shows everyone what it thinks they want and I’m screaming and dying fuck it was emotional hell.

Also after Sebastian’s death and they save Magnus, they run into Magnus’ dad *they don’t really run into him they summon and Magnus says that he is going to give up his immortality which will kill me because he’s 400 years old to save the world and Alec is like no don’t do this and I’m sobbing. Then Simon is just like no let me do it and then I’m died because Simon is my child and I’ll protect him with my life!!!

tumblr_npmrpkysi11u1xbygo1_400

So his memories are taken away and he doesn’t remember anything over the last six books.  But then the epilogue comes and everything is beautifully wrapped up and my kids are happy and Simon sort of remembers somethings. It’s just so beautiful!

This book was the best thing ever. I’ve read like five times and each time still leaves me crying!!! Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Look out for my Shadowhunter Academy review and hopefully more soon. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

2 thoughts on “My heart! It hurts! | City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: LIKE WHERE DO I EVEN BEGIN!?!? | Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare | geekygalaxy

Leave a Reply

