It’s gonna be crazy! | Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty!

lockandmori

Rating: -B: Could has better and was too slow and only got good at the end

All that precious denial disintegrates in a moment, and you’re left with the truth.

That life is fragile.

That letting yourself love people is the most sadistic form of self-torture.

That the fully alone are lucky bastards who never have to learn to live with worry.”

I’m a big Sherlock Holmes fan. I loved the show Sherlock that was on BBC and I have some of the books and I’ve read them and I don’t hate them! They are fun books to read *well as much fun as classics can be. I also love the Stoker and Holmes book which I have a review for here those are great and underrated and YOU SHOULD GO AND READ THEM IF YOU HAVEN’T BECAUSE THEY ARE AMAZING! I like reading and watching different takes on the Sherlock stories or have something to do with them so when I saw this book, I was just like yes I have to read it!

This book is the first in the Lock and Mori trilogy and it follows teenage James ‘Mori’ Moriarty *who is a girl by the way! that was one the reason i wanted to read it and Sherlock ‘Lock’ Holmes *who doesn’t go by that but Mori calls him that and there is murder that happens and Sherlock creates a game to see who solves the crime first and it gets crazy. What I mean by that is you’ve read or heard or watch the story of1Moriarty and Holmes which is that they are enemies and Moriarty kills people and Sherlock fights back. That’s the story and I knew that when I was coming into it. So as the book goes on an we learn more about the murder and Lock and Mori’s relationship starts to grow the more I realized that this was not going to end well.

This is the start as an opening to what make them in the future so the books starts off with them just meeting. There’s an alarm going off and the teacher sends her down to the basement to go and get him because Sherlock hangs out down for some reason. So you probably know Sherlock which means that the whole meeting is like spent with him asking her different questions about her personal life.

James Moriarty?”
 
“It’s a family name, and I don’t want to talk about it.”
 
“Not Jamie or something more feminine?”
 
I stared at him silently.
 
“Yes, as you said. It’s a fault of mine, always wanting to get the truth out of the matter.” He said it as though he didn’t think it was a fault in the slightest. “But surely there must be a story.”
 
“Really? Sherlock wishes to discuss odd names with me?”

Then they meet later and that’s when the games began. So they go to the park where a murder has happened *because that’s a great spot to take friends and Sherlock is like so how about we see who can solve this first and that’s what brings them closer together.

I have to say I enjoyed this book. It was a fun a little read and it does take that long to read because it’s not that big. There were a lot of things that I liked about it. I liked that we got a new look at Moriarty because she is our heroine of the story. She comes from a family where after her mom passed her dad, a cop, starts getting abusive to her and her brothers and she is really smart. We never really learned a lot about Moriarty before so learning new stuff was cool. I loved having her has out lead for this book but you could always see at some points were I could see her going the path is she goes in the future just by some of the things she said.

So you are a feminist?”
 
“No. Feminists fight for equity, which is an unsatisfactory goal.”
 
He grinned. “You’re not satisfied with equity?”
 
“Why should I be? Men aren’t. For all our generations, men have fought for control and power. Why should women be satisfied to be merely equal?”
 
Sherlock shrugged. “I don’t understand the need for power, really. There are more important pursuits.”
 
“Only those who have never felt powerless can afford to think like you.”

Sherlock was a little different in some ways that I thought but he was basically the same as he is in any version of Sherlock so you know plays violin, smokes, is really really clever. I really loved Lock and Mori’s relationship but like I said we all know how this is going to end so watching it developed and grow it broke my heart because I knew something had to happen to drive Mori to hate him later on. They were just such a happy couple and had so many cute moments.

You are brilliant.”
I bit back my own smile and said, “I am right.”
“You are brilliant and right, and I think we should… that is to say, I should…” He studied my face again, and before I could quip about his staring, he swooped forward and kissed me, gently and just long enough to separate this kiss from the quick and playful kiss I’d given him.”

Yeah that wasn’t their first kiss. It’s a cute scene to make you think it’s their first kiss. No their first kiss happens after the memorial of the first victim and she tells Sherlock something that could help with the case and he’s like no that doesn’t help anything and then she is hurt and then he says sorry and then she kisses.

I must admit watching the great mind of Sherlock Holmes struggle to ask even a single question was perhaps the best part of that wretched day. Other than the kiss itself. I caught my finger touching my lips and turned my back to him, looking over my shoulder briefly to say, “Looked like you needed a distraction.”

It’s a cute yet awkward scene which are most of the romantic scenes between the two but I love it. Still though I know what’s gonna to happen so it’s sad at the time. Other then the two main characters one of the things I loved about this book was the slow burn of the mystery unraveling through out the whole story. We start off knowing very little but these characters are so smart they just figure very thing so quickly. We learn new thing about the mystery and then we discover that the victims all knew Mori’s dead mother and they were apart of this crime team. Mori mets a girl who knew her mother and she tells her about it and that’s when Mori realizes that her dad is the one that is killing everyone.

She gets ridden of the sword that he was using to kill people with and then when you think everything is okay he goes and kills one of her friends that she was re connecting with. Mori tells Sherlock but it’s like one of the rules for the game that they tell each other and she didn’t tell him any of the information and they fight and then she tries to confront her father and he beats the living shit out of her and it’s so hard to read and I’m like emotional. Luckily Sherlock calls the police and they come and save Mori but then she is mad at Sherlock for doing that! She’s like you betrayed me and she calls me selfish and I’m like Mori you need to chill he did this because he cares about you. I thought she forgave him but then the book ends like this.

And there, sheltered in his arms, I made two startling realizations. I knew that I would love this boy for rest of my life. I knew also that I would never, ever forgive him.”

So it’s like this must been the start of their relationship going south. Which I’m not really looking forward to because it’s going to be so sad when In case you are wondering because I haven’t talked about we do have other characters make appearances in this book we have Mycroft appear and he is gay in this book and I was like cool.

Your creepy lurker persona? Yes, I’m sure that does well with the ladies.”
Mycroft might have visibly shuddered. “As I said, I’ve given up women?”
“For Lent?”
“When I was fourteen and kissed my first boy.”

He and Sherlock’s relationship is okay at best and I say that because they aren’t bickering a lot and there’s a line where Mycroft was talking to Mori as she’s leaving their house at night about how he cares about Sherlock.

Then we have one short scene with Mori and John and I might as I just say how mad I was about the lack of John Watson in this book. That is probably my one compliant about  this book was that there wasn’t a lot of John in this book. I mean he even made a appearance in Stoker & Holmes, I mean he wasn’t there a lot him in that but it was more than this. John got a short half a page scene and then he was mentioned like two more times and that’s it.

Watkins?” I said as a question as a question to the arm I’d grabbed. I was hoping the arm’s owner would would point me in the right direction and maybe even confirm that was the boyfriend’s name. Turns out I had unfortunate luck.

He scowled. “I’m Watson. But I prefer John, if it’s all the same. Let go of my arm.”

He could have been a bigger part of these books. He could have been like the narrator telling the story that would have been fun. I mean I know it’s about Sherlock and Moriarty but why couldn’t he have a bigger part. Maybe he does later on in the other books. I have to wonder if John and Sherlock met because they are going to school together and I don’t think Sherlock would not know of him. And if he did know of him then would he forget him and then would they followed the events of the Study in Scarlet when they first met.

Mrs. Hudson is mentioned a couple times but it’s not the same. I had such a fun time reading this book and I loved it. If you like Sherlock related books then I think you’ll enjoy this but don’t into expecting some action packed book because it’s a slow burning mystery novel it takes time and once it gets there is great! I just finished the second book Mind Games which was also so amazing!

Front-Cover-012216-Mind-Games.jpg

A review for that should be coming soon because it was really great and I have a lot to say about it and then the third and I’m guessing final book comes out in November. Maybe next week and if not then it should either be the Avengers Book Tag or my 13 Reasons Why rant / review. Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Look out for more reviews and other random posts. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

b4f1be1a6f927960ebb9d6cd1e152056.gif

*i used a gif of sherlock for Stoker & Holmes so I’ll use a gif of Moriarty

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

3 thoughts on “It’s gonna be crazy! | Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty review

Leave a Reply

