ITS GOT CRAZY! | Mind Games by Heather W. Petty review

Greetings Earthlings! Today I’m reviewing Mind Games by Heather W. Petty, the second book in the Lock and Mori series!

WARNING SPOILERS

Front-Cover-012216-Mind-Games

Rating: -A: Good book with characters that got better and a slow plot line

We were on separate paths, parallel for now, but still separate, our arms stretched across the gap to keep us connected. But the gap was still there, widening every day that I saw the innocent glint in Sherlock’s eyes and felt the black ash of rage staining mine.”

I reviewed the first book two weeks ago which you can read here. I posted that reviewed the first book on Twitter and Heather W. Petty liked it and replied.


Literally the day after I finished the first book, I was getting ready to write my review and I went on Amazon and this book was like 2.00 dollars and I was screaming in happiness. I finished this book before I finished by review for the first one. If you didn’t know these books follow a young James ‘Mori’ Moriarty and Sherlock ‘Lock’ Holmes. It’s sort of like a prequel to the rest of the Sherlock world, I think. I don’t really know. I loved that first book, it had a slow burning mystery, great characters, and an interesting plot line. I knew that when book two rolled around that it was going to be crazy and it was but in a good way!

That first book ended and I was just left think what the fuck is going to happen next because it ends with Mori saying that she will love Sherlock forever and she will never forgive him and I knew that it was a step towards Sherlock and Mori becoming enemies. In this book, the two have grew in distance. A part of Mori wants to forgive him but that other part of isn’t able to do it and it’s heartbreaking. I talked about in my last review how their relationship was heartbreaking because we all know how the relationship is going to end. That is still a factor to why it is heartbreaking but the main reason is because these characters clearly love each other but they keep pushing each other away. The once cute relationship has now disappear. The two are there for each other but they aren’t as close as they used to be. It’s mainly Mori who is doing this as she won’t forgive him.

I have rescued you, he seemed to say with his every look.

You have only prolonged the inevitable, I countered with mine. Sherlock had stopped my father from killing me. He obviously wasn’t sorry for doing that. But he’d made the call to send police my way, not even knowing if I needed rescue. He’d done it because he didn’t trust me. He didn’t care what would be best for my life or for my brothers’. He just didn’t want me to change. That’s what he’d said. He’d kept me from killing my father in some vain attempt at preserving what little innocence I still possessed.”

Sherlock continues to tried and make Mori forgive him but it doesn’t do anything. They do have one scene in the beginning where I thought everything was back to normal which was in the first chapter and they two are like practicing fight and it was so cute and then they kiss afterwards. I thought everything was okay but it turns out everything isn’t okay as we learn a couple pages after that. This book is a completely different tone from the first book. As the first book was more a slow burning mystery with suspense and light hearted moments sprinkled through out it, this book seems more of a depressing, psychological thriller.

This book has Mori slowly going off into the deep as she being framed as the killer instead of her father. The kids at school are tormenting her from being the daughter of a kill, someone is sending her threatening and mysteries messages, and the police are turning against her and siding with her father. People even attacked her brothers on their way to school one day. No one believes Mori except her brothers, Sherlock, and her mom’s old friend Alice who I loved for the whole book until the end because she ruined everything but more on that later. Like I said how Sherlock and Mori’s relationship has changed so has Mori. After what had happened in the first and the events from this book,  she is slowly turning into a different character. I’m not saying that Mori was some happy little flower in the first book, she wasn’t but she wasn’t like how she was in the book. In this book she was mad, angry and at sometimes she seemed paranoid. This side of her, I think started showing at the end of the first book. Alice even tells her that she sees more of her dad, a killer and a abusive man, in her than her Mori but again more on that later.

At one point, she gets into fight a woman who is accusing of killing people and Mori ends up on top of her with a knife against the woman’s throat and she almost kills her.

In my imagination, I saw hands covered in blood, only this time, instead of my father’s body beyond, I saw Alice dead, and Freddie. I saw Michael and Seanie cowering as our father moved toward them. All of that and more would happen if I went to prison now. And all it would take was a slice to stop her from ruining everything.

You would not be you anymore. I heard Lock’s voice so clearly in my mind right then, I half expected to hear his crunching steps behind me. I gritted my teeth against the sound of it and blinked away the hot, wet feeling in my eyes. I screamed in my mind that he was wrong, that I was already changed, that I had to do this!

But a tremor in my hand moved the knife and nicked her skin, and the blood drop that formed over the wound made me toss the knife aside. I crawled off her and away, until I was sitting in a pile of feathers that used to be Alice’s duvet. I thought Mrs. Greeves might get up and run off when I did, but she just lay there, coughing more than she had when I’d been on top of her. She didn’t even move her hands. She coughed twice more and her eyes were closed. Maybe she was sleeping, I told myself. Maybe she’d fall into unconsciousness and stay there. Maybe I’d already killed her in the end.”

I know it’s a weird thing to say but this was my favorite scene in the whole book. I loved how it was written. Heather W. Petty is such a great writer when it comes to suspense scenes because I’m like on my toes. I was reading this at dinner and we were at a public restaurant and I was flipping out!

Again we are lacking in John Watson in this book but it’s less then last time. I mean we got a scene last time and he is only mentioned one time in this book! His girlfriend though whose dad was a victim of the murders was in this book a lot and I did not care her at all. She and Mori have something that is trying to be a friendship but it isn’t because Mori is losing it and Lily is like not helping at all. Lily is not helping the fact that everyone is saying terrible things about her and at one point she is like we need to reform the group that our parents formed a long time ago and I’m bitch that is a terrible idea! They just killed all the people in the last group. Mrs. Hudson is again only mentioned and it’s about the same amount that she was mentioned in the last book. Mycroft is still in this book and his reasons for being there are sad because Sherlock’s mom is sick and we learn this in book one but not a lot of information is given about that until this one.

Sherlock and Mycroft are at the hospital a lot during this book and Mori goes over there to comfort him and their relationship slow beginning to heal and I’m like something is going to go wrong and I can’t deal with this! But yeah their relationship starts healing and after the events of Mori attacking people and people dying. She begins to think that it is all over and she’s like I love Sherlock and I’m going to be with him and I’m like yes girl go to him! She finds Sherlock but before she can go to him, Mori is attacked. So here is where that bitch Alice comes. Mori wakes up in a cell on some farm and Alice is there and it turns out she has been the one sending everything to Mori, killing everyone, and she is just like I did it for you. She then tells Mori that she is more like her dad then her mother and the whole reason she did this all because she wanted Mori to be her partner like her mother was but then she is like you are a killer like your dad.

Because you’re nothing like your mother.” Alice held the bars and leaned back like a little kid at a playground. “This wasn’t in the original plan, of course. I was going to make you my partner, the way I’d been for your mom. I even tried to teach you. But, sadly, you aren’t like Emily.” She blew her bangs up off her forehead and pulled herself upright again.

“You said over and over that I was.”

“Yes, which is why I sent you the cards. That was my test. Emily would have figured out what was going on ages before you did. But I suppose it’s good that you turned out to be lesser. There can’t be two of us. That won’t do.”

Two of us. I stared at Alice, wondering what in the world that meant.

“But you’re not like her, are you?” She smiled. “You’re like him.”

I knew immediately whom she meant. “I’m not!”

“Oh. Did I hit a sore spot?” Alice offered a mocking pout. “That moment in the hospital stairway I saw the truth. You actually put your hand around my neck. Do you remember doing that? Do you know how many times I watched your father do that to my Emily?”

She is the whole fucking reason that Moriarty and Sherlock become more and more distance. Mori was ready to forgive him and go back to him but then fucking Alice had to go and kidnap Mori and put her in prison! She ruined their chance at happiness! You are probably like maybe she didn’t ruin their chances well I think she did because the book like the first one ends with a line from Mori talking about Sherlock and how she will never cry over him again.

I traced my finger down the divot I’d made, and then I promised that these would be the last tears I’d ever shed for Sherlock Holmes.”

I don’t know what happens next. Book three comes out in November and by the title of the book I think it’s the last one as it’s called the Final Fall.

18883196._UY2114_SS2114_

It says that Sherlock and Mori share a bittersweet meeting and I’m like I need to know!!!! Heather W. Petty can you like give me a copy of the next book because I need to know what happens next! This book was amazing and you guys should go and read it because it is the best thing ever! I can’t wait for book three! So I’m either going to do my reviews that I talked about doing last time or my ALA trip or my post about the new supernatural spin off the Wayland Sisters because I have somethings I did to say about it. Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Look out for more reviews and other random posts. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

jim.gif

you know you love fiction,

Gigi Darling

Personal Tumblr: thegracelings

Tumblr: darlingsgeekygalaxy

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: geekiestgalaxy

Leave a Reply

