13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher BOOK review / RANT

Greetings Earthling! Today I’m talking about 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, not the show, which is also my July book of the month!

WARNING SPOILERS

AND COMPLAINTS FROM A VERY BITTER GIRL

BUT FIRST A MESSAGE FROM THAT GIRL

HEY EVERYONE! So I need you to read this part before we began the review. I need to say  this because I have a feeling that I might make some people upset for this review. I know that we all have different opinions and the world and I know that I can’t change people’s opinions but I don’t want to hurt anyones feelings. So if you liked 13 Reasons Why then you need to not read this review. I say this again in the review but I’m going to give you this warning now. Okay? Okay. You can continue.


636274955462993937-2016165915_thirteen-reasons-why.jpg

Rating: D – Nothing seem to happen. The characters had a bad attitude or were boring until the end. Story didn’t know what it wanted.

You can’t stop the future
You can’t rewind the past
The only way to learn the secret
…is to press play.”

*sighs deeply of frustration and disappointment about the kids in my generation. So a lot of you have probably heard about the show that claims it is based off this book. It’s not, it just has the same name as the book. If you couldn’t tell I’m very against the show. If you like the show or the book then I think you should leave because it’s about to get mean. I’m sorry.

This is my second time reading this book, I read it the first time in like 2014 and I liked it. I didn’t love it mainly because reading books about suicide has always been a touchy subject for me. I gave it three stars the first time which is a rating I have given to another books that deal with suicide like Playlist for the Dead and All The Bright Places. I thought it was okay book that dealt for a subject that is hard to talk about, trust me I know I’m writing about it and it’s hard. It’s also hard to read. For this book and All the Bright Places, I know that these book have a lot of controversy. Some find them great and these books helped them but for people like me it wasn’t like that.

I reread this book because it is my July book of the month for my book club and because the show had come out and I didn’t remember a lot. I haven’t seen the show yet but I will. I started watching it but I could already see that it was different for the book and mainly because it was popular so I decided that I would wait for the hype to die down before watching the show. Like I said this book wasn’t for me but I still liked it then I reread it and I didn’t like it as much.

This book follows Hannah Baker and Clay Jenson, Hannah has committed suicide and Clay was a guy who always wanted to be Hannah’s friend or maybe something a little bit more but he never got the chance. A couple days after her death, he revives a books full of tapes that has Hannah talking about people who did things to cause her to take her own life and there are seven tapes which are doubled sided, making it 13 Thirteen Reasons. The only people who get them are the ones who have a tape and Clay is on one of these tapes. Now I like Jay Asher and I like what he was going for, I got to read some interview questions that where in the back of his book. He talked about how he went around and talked to girls and what they struggled in high school but the general theme of this book bothers me. Which is that love can heal depression.

This is a trope and an idea that has been passed around through different shows and books and I hate it. Love can help you through depression but it can’t heal depression. This is shown by the fact that Hannah says that no one really seem care enough about her and if they had then she would have been better.

A lot of you cared, just not enough.”

I hate this belief and I hate it keeps coming up in different things. Hannah also blames everyone for taking her own life. Taking your life is your own decision and even though things bit have happened to lead to this decision still you shouldn’t do that. I didn’t like the fact that Clay is blamed for not loving Hannah and not being there for her and it’s said he could have saved her. I just didn’t like it! I did like some parts of this book though. I like *well I didn’t really like but i found it heartbreaking how Clay wanted to be there for Hannah before she died. Clay is a good character and honestly he was the one out of the all the types that I cared about and he didn’t do anything terrible to her. Also even though I’ve complained about Hannah I did like her and she didn’t deserve anything that happened to her *no one deserves to go through that. I mean she got her first kiss and then a rumor went around that she and Justin did more then kiss and everyone at school started believe and then her friends abandoned her and it’s so sad.

Another thing that I liked is the message that our actions and what we do have affects on people that surround us. I mean one of the reasons that I think Hannah does these tapes is to tell everyone about how their actions effected her and her life. I mean Justin started a rumor that everyone believed and then her friends stopped being her friends and a lot of other stuff followed. One of the things that you should think about after reading this book is your actions and how the affect others.

The book also deals with what people think about you and saying terrible things about you and also rape. Near the end of the book, Hannah gets rape by a guy and it’s a really hard scene. Just reading it was hard. This whole book was hard. I’m sorry if you liked this book and it changed your life then I’m happy for you but it didn’t have the same affect on me. I thought this book was okay, I just don’t like the messages through out it. The only message that I liked was that the things we do and say have effects on people. I’ll be having my Spiderman: Homecoming review coming next week followed by my 13 Reasons Why show review. Have you guys read this book? What did you think of it? Did you like or did you hate it? Let me know! I hope you enjoyed this review and make sure to look out for more coming your way. You should follow my book club here and other social media links. I posted rants like this once a week every week. Look out for more reviews and other random posts. Like, Comment, and follow for more rants like these! Also make sure to follow my social media links.

you know you love fiction,

Grace

Tumblr: monsterpandamash

Instagram: geekygalaxy

Twitter: gigithepanda

Bookclub: Epic Adaptations

3 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher BOOK review / RANT

  1. I think my biggest issue with this is that it still romanticizes suicide (your point about the book perpetuating the lie that love can “heal” depression) and it glorifies the act as a tool for vindictive behavior. I worry that people, especially teenagers, with the mindset of “if I kill myself, then they’ll really wish they had been nicer/paid more attention/etc.” will see this story as a way to justify actually going through with it. I acknowledge that suicide and mental illness are subjects that need to be discussed more, but I don’t think this book does so in the correct way.

    I really enjoyed that you actually talked about the character and story issues rather than lauding this book simply because it deals with difficult subject matter. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

